Goddard takes Super2 pole for Race 1 at Barbagallo

Zane Goddard

Zane Goddard has become the second maiden Armor All Pole-sitter in as many rounds of the 2019 Super2 Series to date, at the Pirtek Perth SuperNight meeting.

The MW Motorsport driver will share the front row of the grid for Race 1 at Barbagallo Wanneroo Raceway with Eggleston Motorsport’s Will Brown, while Dunlop Super2 Series leader Bryce Fullwood was third fastest in another MWM Altima.

Fellow Adelaide race winner Brodie Kostecki, however, is buried in 17th after he did not have time to get onto the circuit on new tyres due to his Kostecki Brothers Racing crew effecting a front damper and spring change on the #57 VF Commodore.

The majority of the 19-car field effectively had one shot at a qualifying time on new tyres, despite running on a new surface at the Perth circuit.

Practice pace-setter Goddard was third after the first runs, when drivers ran around on warm up tyres, before making his mark with a 54.4955s in Car #28 that knocked the #16 Nissan of Fullwood off top spot.

Brown, who pinched a tyre and ran off at the halfway mark of the 15-minute session, then split the MWM cars with a 54.6179s in the #38 VF Commodore, although it is unclear if he took a second new tyre set for what was his third run at qualifying.

Kurt Kostecki briefly held provisional pole before ending up fourth in the #55 Triple Eight VF Commodore, ahead of Ash Walsh (#35 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) and Thomas Randle (#5 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon).

Jack Smith (#21 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore) and Round 1 pole-sitter Mason Barbera (#99 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore) will share Row 4, ahead of lead rookie Dylan O’Keeffe (#44 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore) and local Adam Marjoram (#15 Image Racing VF Commodore).

Last year’s Barbagallo round winner Dean Fiore, another West Australian, was 13th in the #54 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore.

Race 1, to be run over 26 laps, starts this evening at 1725 local time/1925 AEST.

Results: Armor All Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 28 BGD Architects / MWM Zane Goddard Nissan Altima 0:54.4955  
2 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 0:54.6179 0:00.1224
3 16 Middy’s Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 0:54.6237 0:00.1282
4 55 Arcoweld Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:54.6470 0:00.1515
5 35 Matt Stone Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 0:54.6730 0:00.1775
6 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 0:54.7873 0:00.2918
7 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 0:54.8224 0:00.3269
8 99 Garry Rogers Motorsport Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 0:54.8288 0:00.3333
9 44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe Holden Commodore VF 0:54.8302 0:00.3347
10 15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 0:54.9069 0:00.4114
11 49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 0:54.9180 0:00.4225
12 56 Team Arcoweld Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:54.9293 0:00.4338
13 54 Eggleston Motorsport Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 0:54.9436 0:00.4481
14 10 Grove Hire Racing Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 0:55.1763 0:00.6808
15 47 Osborn’s Transport Joel Heinrich Ford Falcon FG/X 0:55.1798 0:00.6843
16 27 Lowes Petoleum / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima 0:55.2190 0:00.7235
17 57 Team Arcoweld Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2436 0:00.7481
18 88 Eggleston Motorsport Justin Ruggier Holden Commodore VF 0:55.3648 0:00.8693
19 18 Auto One Albury Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X 0:55.4165 0:00.9210

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]