Alexander earns first SuperUtes win for D-Max

Tom Alexander

Tom Alexander snapped up the first SuperUtes victory for the Isuzu D-Max in Race 1 of Round 2 at Barbagallo Wanneroo Raceway.

Armor All Pole-sitter Ben Walsh (#8 Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux) went backward at the start, falling to fourth in the opening few corners as Alexander took over the lead in the #22 Ross Stone Racing entry.

Ryal Harris (#1 Peters Motorsport Mazda BT-50) had a look down the inside of Alexander at the final corner, but the pair made contact, slowing them up on corner exit.

Walsh closed up rapidly and found himself on the grass trying to make a move up the inside of Harris at Turn 1 only just getting the car pulled up for the corner.

Meanwhile, Elliot Barbour (#78 Sieders Racing Team Mitsubishi Triton) grabbed second as Walsh managed to make a pass stick on Harris for third later in the lap.

Race leader Alexander came under pressure from Barbour early in the second half of the 12-lap race but managed to build a cushion.

Alexander took the flag just under a second ahead of Barbour, as Walsh, Harris and Michael Sieders (#10 SRT Hilux) rounded out the top five.

Peter Major (#18 Team 18 Holden Colorado) and Cameron Crick (#7 SRT Triton) both retired to pit lane with mechanical issues, while Craig Woods (#64 Western Sydney Motorsport Hilux) stopped on track early in the piece.

The second race of the weekend for the ECB SuperUtes Series takes place on Saturday at 1220 local time/1420 AEST.

UPDATE: Car #49 disqualified

Results: Race 1 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 22 Caltex Delo Racing Tom Alexander Isuzu D-MAX 12 14:31.0113
2 78 Mitsibishi Motors Team Triton Elliot Barbour Mitsubishi Triton 12 14:31.9750
3 8 Fat Freddy’s Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 12 14:33.5626
4 1 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 12 14:35.9182
5 10 Sieders Racing Team Michael Sieders Toyota Hilux 12 14:36.3778
6 17 Tank World Benjamin Falk Mazda BT50 12 14:58.1828
7 11 Duncon/Angry Dad Punters Ronnie Conquest Holden Colorado 11 14:35.1661
DNF 64 Western Sydney Motorspor Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 4 4:59.3824
DNF 7 Total Tools Team Triton Racing Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton 4 5:07.5898
DNF 18 ACDelco Racing Peter Major Holden Colorado 4 12:55.2904
DSQ 49 Allgate Auto Doors Racing Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger    

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]