Goddard tops Super2 practice at Barbagallo

Daniel Herrero

Thursday 2nd May, 2019 - 5:51pm


Zane Goddard

Second-year Super2 driver Zane Goddard has clocked the fastest lap in Thursday practice for Round 2 at the Pirtek Perth SuperNight event.

All three MW Motorsport Altimas ended up in the top five in Practice 2, headed by Goddard with a 54.3949s in Car #28 with just over five minutes left in the 40-minute session.

Jordan Boys’ practice record lasted only about two hours as 16 of the 19 drivers went quicker than the Practice 1 benchmark in their second outing on the new Barbagallo Wanneroo Raceway surface.

While degradation was low, the order in which cars took brand new tyres somewhat dictated how the fastest laps rolled out, with Goddard jumping from 18th when he laid down his personal best.

Ash Walsh had not long improved from 12th to first with a 54.5104s which ultimately left the #35 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore second on the timesheets.

The former Dunlop Super2 Series runner-up did not have a completely untroubled session, however, having twice run of at Turn 1 earlier on.

Walsh may also have played some part in the brief red flag for debris in the form of tail light shards on the back straight given that his Commodore appeared to be missing one on its lefthand side, although television did not catch any incident.

Thomas Randle put the #5 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon third with a 54.6377s, while his entry faces a post-session investigation into what race control described as an issue of ‘control of equipment in pit’.

Last year’s Super3 Series winner, Tyler Everingham, shaded series-leading MWM team-mate Bryce Fullwood by 0.0226s as Cars #27 and #16 were classified fourth and fifth respectively.

Three West Australians followed in Adam Marjoram (#15 Image Racing VF Commodore), Dean Fiore (#54 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore), and Jake Kostecki (#56 Kostecki Brothers Racing VF Commodore), respectively.

Jack Smith (#21 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore) and Brenton Grove (#10 Triple Eight Race Engineering VF Commodore) rounded out the top 10, while Boys (#49 Image Racing VF Commodore) was 11th at 0.4614s off the pace.

Armor All Qualifying for the first race of the weekend starts tomorrow at 1455 local time/1655 AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 28 BGD Architects / MWM Zane Goddard Nissan Altima 0:54.3949
2 35 Matt Stone Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 0:54.5104 0:00.1155
3 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 0:54.6377 0:00.2428
4 27 Lowes Petoleum / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima 0:54.6822 0:00.2873
5 16 Middy’s Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 0:54.7048 0:00.3099
6 15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 0:54.7048 0:00.3099
7 54 Eggleston Motorsport Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 0:54.7835 0:00.3886
8 56 Team Arcoweld Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:54.7977 0:00.4028
9 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 0:54.8131 0:00.4182
10 10 Grove Hire Racing Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 0:54.8248 0:00.4299
11 49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 0:54.8563 0:00.4614
12 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 0:54.8645 0:00.4696
13 55 Arcoweld Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:54.9057 0:00.5108
14 44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe Holden Commodore VF 0:54.9163 0:00.5214
15 57 Team Arcoweld Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 0:54.9233 0:00.5284
16 99 Garry Rogers Motorsport Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 0:55.0227 0:00.6278
17 88 Eggleston Motorsport Justin Ruggier Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2065 0:00.8116
18 18 Auto One Albury Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X 0:55.3622 0:00.9673
19 47 Osborn’s Transport Joel Heinrich Ford Falcon FG/X 0:55.5214 0:01.1265 comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!