Alexander prevails in tightly contested SuperUtes Practice 2

Daniel Herrero

Thursday 2nd May, 2019 - 7:23pm


Tom Alexander

Tom Alexander has ended practice for Round 2 of the ECB SuperUtes Series with the fastest lap after a closely contested second session in Perth.

The New Zealander improved on what was already the session benchmark when he set a 1:11.5205s moments before the chequered flag in the #22 Ross Stone Racing Isuzu D-Max.

Less than two tenths of a second covered the top four, with Elliot Barbour (#78 Sieders Racing Team Mitsubishi Triton) placing second again and Ryal Harris third.

Ryal Harris hits Christopher Formosa pic: Fox Sports

Harris, who set the pace in Practice 1, had a drama when he came across a slow-moving Christopher Formosa exiting Turn 7 in the latter half of the 20-minute session.

The series leader had the #1 Peters Motorsport Mazda BT-50 locked up and sideways but still ran into the back of the #49 Allgate Motorsport Ford Ranger, with Formosa saying that he was stuck in neutral at the time of the incident.

Harris subsequently returned to the track and remained third with a 1:11.6594s having clocked a 1:11.6727s in SuperUtes’ first session at Barbagallo Wanneroo Raceway, while Mick Sieders (#10 SRT Toyota Hilux) was fourth for the session and on combined times.

Ben Walsh, who stopped with a diff breakage in Practice 1, was next in his #8 Hilux on a 1:11.8187s, ahead of SuperUtes debutant Pete Major (#18 Team 18 Holden Colorado) and Craig Woods (#64 Western Sydney Motorsport Hilux).

Tim Slade’s father Gil got behind the wheel of the Peters Motorsport Holden Colorado, which Ben Falk had vacated to switch to a Mazda BT-50 for this weekend, and rounded out the timesheet.

There were still only 10 cars on-track, however, due to engine problems for the #7 SRT Triton of Cameron Crick.

The grid for the first race will be set tomorrow afternoon with Armor All Qualifying from 1330 local time/1530 AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 22 Caltex Delo Racing Tom Alexander Isuzu D-MAX 1:11.5205
2 78 Mitsibishi Motors Team Triton Elliot Barbour Mitsubishi Triton 1:11.6100 0:00.0895
3 1 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 1:11.6594 0:00.1389
4 10 Sieders Racing Team Michael Sieders Toyota Hilux 1:11.7082 0:00.1877
5 8 Fat Freddy’s Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 1:11.8187 0:00.2982
6 18 ACDelco Racing Peter Major Holden Colorado 1:12.2087 0:00.6882
7 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 1:12.2242 0:00.7037
8 49 Allgate Auto Doors Racing Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 1:12.9698 0:01.4493
9 17 Tank World Benjamin Falk Mazda BT50 1:13.5891 0:02.0686
10 11 Gilbert Slade Gilbert Slade Holden Colorado 1:15.8451 0:04.3246 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!