Frijns takes victory in chaotic Paris Formula E race

Robin Frijns

Robin Frijns has won a Paris E-Prix which was marred by several incidents as heavy rain caused drama.

The Virgin Racing driver is the eighth different winner in as many races this season, while Techeetah’s Andre Lotterer took second, Audi Sport’s Daniel Abt third, and Jaguar’s Mitch Evans 16th.

Both e.dams Nissans started at the head of the field after the Mahindras, including that of original pole-sitter Pascal Wehrlein, were sent rear of grid for not meeting minimum tyre pressures in qualifying.

The race started under Safety Car as one side of the grid was wet due to earlier rain before Oliver Rowland ran into the wall while holding first position.

That left Sebastien Buemi in the other Nissan in the lead but he had a slow run through Turn 8 on Lap 11 and was passed by Frijns before pitting with a puncture.

Despite rain and even hail making for the first wet race in Formula E history, Frijns did not come under pressure from those behind and took victory with 32 laps to his name.

Lotterer had not long passed Felipe Massa by the time Buemi had to peel off and the German ran second thereafter.

Massa might have held on to a podium position but spun his Venturi entry and eventually finished ninth.

Behind Abt at the finish was team-mate Lucas di Grassi, who prevailed in a battle with Maximilian Gunther (Dragon) for fourth.

Wehrlein made his way to 10th while Rowland finished 12th having punted Alexander Sims (BMW Andretti) in the wet.

The latter is one of three drivers who have been hit with grid penalties for the next race due to various incidents, along with Jerome D’Ambrosio (Mahindra) and Edoardo Mortara (Venturi), after an encounter which saw four Full Course Yellows.

Buemi was 15th in the end, while Evans had to take a new front wing due to contact on his way to 16th.

Frijns is the new Formula E championship leader, by a point over Lotterer, ahead of Race 9 in Monaco on May 11.

Race results: Race 8, Paris

Pos Driver Team Laps Race time/Split
1 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing 32 47:50.510
2 André Lotterer DS Techeetah 32 +1.373
3 Daniel Abt Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 32 +3.175
4 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 32 +3.666
5 Maximilian Günther Geox Dragon 32 +5.456
6 Jean-Éric Vergne DS Techeetah 32 +6.694
7 António Félix da Costa BMW i Andretti Motorsport 32 +7.238
8 Gary Paffett HWA Racelab 32 +7.901
9 Felipe Massa Venturi Formula E Team 32 +10.522
10 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing 32 +10.998
11 Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 32 +11.488
12 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams 32 +19.451
13 José María López Geox Dragon 32 +24.023
14 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 32 +1:22.226
15 Sébastien Buemi Nissan e.dams 31 +1 Lap
16 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 31 +1 Lap
17 Jérôme d’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing 29 +3 Laps
DNF Alex Lynn Panasonic Jaguar Racing 23
DNF Edoardo Mortara Venturi Formula E Team 23
DNF Alexander Sims BMW i Andretti Motorsport 18
DNF Stoffel Vandoorne HWA Racelab 18
DNF Tom Dillmann NIO Formula E Team 17

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Pts
1 Robin Frijns 81
2 André Lotterer 80
3 António Félix da Costa 70
4 Lucas di Grassi 70
5 Jérôme d’Ambrosio 65
6 Jean-Éric Vergne 62
7 Mitch Evans 61
8 Daniel Abt 59
9 Sam Bird 54
10 Edoardo Mortara 52
11 Pascal Wehrlein 38
12 Oliver Rowland 38
13 Sébastien Buemi 30
14 Stoffel Vandoorne 18
15 Alexander Sims 18
16 Felipe Massa 17
17 Maximilian Günther 10
18 Gary Paffett 8
19 Oliver Turvey 6
20 José María López 2
21 Nelson Piquet Jnr 1
22 Tom Dillmann 0
23 Alex Lynn 0
24 Felipe Nasr 0
25 Felix Rosenqvist 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]