Lynton/Leahey take pole for Bathurst 6 Hour

Mat Coch

Saturday 20th April, 2019 - 5:24pm


The Beric Lynton and Tim Leahey BMW M3

Beric Lynton and Tim Leahey will start the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour from pole position following Saturday’s two-part qualifying session.

The BMW duo recorded the fastest time of the weekend thus far to secure top spot, their 2:24.8000s more than three seconds faster than the rest of the field.

“It was a tricky session just with the tyres – I hadn’t run on a new tyre so wasn’t sure what level to run,” Leahey said.

“So I just had a red hot crack on the green tyre, and that was all we had.

“Pole is great to pump up all the boys, but tomorrow is all business. Tomorrow is the day. All our work has been geared towards the race set-up so let’s hope that works for us.”

Jordan Cox will line up alongside the BMW M3 on the front row, steering the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X RS he shares with Graeme Cox and Daniel Smith to a 2:27.8480

Last year’s winners Grant and Iain Sherrin were third best in their BMW M4 just over a tenth further back after struggling in the early minutes of the session with a loose exhaust.

Qualifying was split in half, with the slowest 22 cars out first to set the back half of the grid before the top half of the field set the grid for the top 23 places.

By the end of the two sessions the top 11 cars were all A1 Class runners with the exception of fifth placed BMW 135i of David and Graeme Russell who proved the fastest Class B entry.

Nathan Callaghan set the A2 Class pace in the Cachet Homes Holden VF HSV, while Jake Williams was the leading Class C entry in 29th overall.

The first D Class runner was David Baker in 29th while Chris Holdt topped E Class in 40th.

The Bathurst 6 Hour begins at 1130 AEST on Sunday morning.

Results: Bathurst 6 Hour, Qualifying

Pos  Num Team              Driver                    Car Class Time Gap
1 23 Bruce Lynton Bodyshop B.Lynton/T.Leahey BMW M3 F80LCI Compet A1  2:24.8000*
2 40 Cox Automotive Jordan Cox (NSW) Mitsubishi Lancer EV A1  2:27.8480 0:03.0480
3 1 Sherrin Rentals Iain Sherrin (QLD) BMW M4 F82 A1  2:27.9800 0:03.1800
4 4 Property Investment Store Andrew Fisher (NSW) BMW M4 F82 A1  2:28.3170 0:03.5170
5 21 Aussie Wide Builders David Russell (NSW) BMW 135i E82 B  2:29.4650 0:04.6650
6 15 Race for a Cure, Breast Cancer Garth Walden (NSW) Mitsubishi Lancer EV A1  2:29.7630 0:04.9630
7 67 JMG Racing/Bilstein George Miedecke (NSW) Ford FGII GT-F A1  2:29.7810 0:04.9810
8 77 Yellowspeed, MX5 Mania J.Winter/Z.Raddatz Mitsubishi Lancer EV A1  2:29.9700 0:05.1700
9 69 Krincorp Racing, Timkin John Bowe (VIC) Holden VF MY14-HSV G A1  2:30.3770 0:05.5770
10 25 Secure Wealth Advisers Jayden Ojeda (NSW) BMW M135i Hatch F20 A1  2:30.4360 0:05.6360
11 92 Allworth Homes E.Kreamer/M.King Mitsubishi Lancer EV A1  2:30.5640 0:05.7640
12 64 Cachet Homes Nathan Callaghan (WA) Holden VF HSV R8 Clu A2  2:31.0430 0:06.2430
13 68 Hi-Tec Oils, Royal Medical Dylan Thomas (NSW) Mitsubishi Lancer EV A1  2:31.1950 0:06.3950
14 14 F1 Armchair Experts Paul Loiacono (NSW) Mitsubishi Lancer EV A1  2:31.4870 0:06.6870
15 45 HPS Transport, Airtag Michael Auld (NSW) Mercedes-Benz A45 AM A1  2:31.5860 0:06.7860
16 53 Muscat Trailers, ROC Hydraulic R.Coulthard/T.Symonds Holden VY CSV Monaro A2  2:31.8560 0:07.0560
17 19 Garage 1 Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) BMW M3 E92 A2  2:31.8970 0:07.0970
18 12 Brad Woods Hadrian Morrall (NSW) BMW M Coupe 1 Series A1  2:32.2600 0:07.4600
19 66 Nova Employment, FullGas Racin D.Agathos/G.Heath Subaru Impreza WRX S A1  2:33.5920 0:08.7920
20 73 Race Academy International S.Varney/M.Caine Holden VE SSV-Redlin B  2:35.4040 0:10.6040
21 44 Nolan Finishes Professional Pa D.Clift/W.Clift Holden VZ-HSV R8 Clu A2  2:36.5700 0:11.7700
22 55 Prime Finance, Goodyear, Fifth Merrick Malouf (NSW) Holden VY2-HSV GTS A2  2:36.6090 0:11.8090
23 18 Gramur Stainless Graeme Muir (NSW) Holden VE HSV GTS A2
24 48 ASAP Marketing Scott Gore (VIC) BMW 135i E82 B  2:35.4350*
25 18 Gramur Stainless Graeme Muir (NSW) Holden VE HSV GTS A2  2:36.5680 0:01.1330
26 50 MWM Racing Matthew Thewlis (VIC) Volkswagen Golf R Se B  2:36.9950 0:01.5600
27 56 Kelso Electrical Bradley Shiels (NSW) Subaru Impreza WRX S A1  2:37.3390 0:01.9040
28 30 ADPV Workplace Drone Solutions Benjamin Walsh (QLD) BMW M3 E36 3.2L B  2:39.4950 0:04.0600
29 47 Online Hire David Baker (NSW) Honda Integra Type R D  2:39.5550 0:04.1200
30 33 McLaurin Motorsport James Vernon (NSW) Toyota 86 GTS ZN SER D  2:41.0430 0:05.6080
31 89 Pinnacle Automotove, Rods Pool Jake Williams (NSW) BMW M3 E36 3.0L C  2:42.1290 0:06.6940
32 95 Aaron Cameron Racing A.Cameron/C.Murray Toyota 86 GT ZN SER D  2:42.1890 0:06.7540
33 41 Solo-Werks, Tegra, Purple Sect Lachlan Mineeff (NSW) Toyota 86 GTS ZN SER D  2:42.5110 0:07.0760
34 34 Traffic Control Innovations Christopher Manly (QLD) BMW 130i E87 C  2:43.7100 0:08.2750
35 7 N-Gen-Racing F.Mammarella/K.Olsen Hyundai I30N C  2:44.4700 0:09.0350
36 86 The 86 Shop Andrew Wilton (QLD) Toyota 86 GT ZN SER D  2:45.2880 0:09.8530
37 35 OccSafe Australia, Cox Claims Richard Shaw (NSW) Mazda RX-8 RX8A C  2:45.9530 0:10.5180
38 87 Free Spirit Tattoo James Goldsbrough (ACT) BMW 130i E87 C  2:46.6920 0:11.2570
39 20 ozEtees, Gold Coast Embroidery Robin Lacey (QLD) Volkswagen Scirocco C  2:47.3240 0:11.8890
40 51 Wahlstrom Private Wealth, Sign Chris Holdt (NZL) Mazda 3 SP23 BK Seri E  2:55.9830 0:20.5480
41 2 Andrew McMaster David Worrell (NSW) Mazda 3 SP25 BL Seri E  2:57.4420 0:22.0070
42 11 Completion Products Graeme Dowsett (SIN) Toyota 86 GTS ZN SER D  2:59.1260 0:23.6910
43 5 HARE Engineering Steven Pittman (WA) Suzuki Swift Sport E E  3:02.0970 0:26.6620
44 72 Atlas Motorsport, Luce Teas C.Gleeson/K.Macready Subaru Impreza WRX G B  3:11.6150 0:36.1800
45 8 N-Gen-Racing Jake Camilleri (QLD) Hyundai I30N C comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!