Marcus Armstrong tops Formula 3 test in Hungaroring

Mat Coch

Thursday 18th April, 2019 - 9:14am


Alex Peroni pic: Dutch Photo Agency

New Zealander Marcus Armstrong has topped the opening day of Formula 3 testing at the Hungaroring following a late lap in deteriorating conditions.

The Ferrari Academy driver clocked a 1:31.411 as spits of rain began to fall late in the day, bumping Leonardo Pulcini from top spot by just over a tenth of a second.

Australian Alex Peroni was a second off the outright pace, unable to improve on his morning’s efforts that had seen him within touching distance of Armstrong.

Peroni signed for Campos Racing for the coming season, having taken part in an evaluation test at Abu Dhabi towards the end of 2018.

The Tasmanian joins the competition having raced in the Formula Renault Eurocup for the past two seasons.

His best of 1:32.491 left him in 23rd overall, though rueing a mistake on social media which he says cost him valuable track time.

“My mistake this morning cost us a lot of track time today. Still have tomorrow to learn as much as we can,” Peroni wrote on Facebook.

New Zealander Liam Lawson, a Red Bull junior driver, ended the day seventh in his MP Motorsport entry, having begun proceedings with the 20th fastest time in the morning.

Testing at the Hungaroring continues on Thursday (local time) with the season proper set to begin alongside Formula 1 at the Spanish Grand Prix (May 10-12).

Results: Formula 3 testing, Hungaroring Day 1

Pos. Driver Team Best
1 Marcus Armstrong Prema Racing 1:31.411
2 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech Grand Prix 1:31.564
3 Robert Shwartzman Prema Racing 1:31.733
4 Niko Kari Trident 1:31.799
5 Jehan Daruvala Prema Racing 1:31.857
6 Jüri Vips Hitech Grand Prix 1:31.990
7 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport 1:32.069
8 Raoul Hyman Sauber/Charouz 1:32.132
9 Artem Petrov Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.150
10 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1:32.157
11 Yifei Ye Hitech Grand Prix 1:32.162
12 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing 1:32.204
13 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1:32.245
14 Logan Sargeant Carlin Buzz Racing 1:32.246
15 David Beckmann ART Grand Prix 1:32.268
16 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.275
17 Pedro Piquet Trident 1:32.287
18 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix 1:32.318
19 Felipe Drugovich Carlin Buzz Racing 1:32.346
20 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport 1:32.360
21 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1:32.464
22 Fabio Scherer Sauber/Charouz 1:32.471
23 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1:32.491
24 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1:32.654
25 Lirim Zendeli Sauber/Charouz 1:32.661
26 Bent Viscaal HWA Racelab 1:33.060
27 Teppei Natori Carlin Buzz Racing 1:33.250
28 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport 1:33.449
29 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab 1:33.569
30 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1:33.918 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!