Field confirmed for Indianapolis 500 test

The start of the 2018 Indianapolis 500

A field of 28 drivers has been confirmed for next week’s IndyCar Series test at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The test is a precursor to formal proceedings for next month’s Indianapolis 500, with seven hours of running across the day.

Split into three sessions, ‘veteran’ racers will be given two hours of track time before the Rookie Orientation Program follows.

A three hour all-in session then rounds out the day.

Missing from the test are a number of confirmed entries in May’s event, including Patricio O’Ward (Carlin), Ben Hanley (DragonSpeed), Pippa Mann (Clauson Marshall), Jordan King (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing), and Australian James Davison (Dale Coyne Racing with Byrd-Hollinger-Belardi).

Entries for Oriol Servia and JR Hildenbrand which have not yet been confirmed as entries in the event will also skip the test.

The test is scheduled to take place on April 24, with formal proceedings beginning with the Rookie Orientation Practice kicking off the event proper on May 14.

Team Engine Drivers
AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet Tony Kanaan
Matheus Leist
Andretti Autosport Honda Ryan Hunter-Reay
Alexander Rossi
Zach Veach
Conor Daly
Andretti Herta Autosport with Marco Andretti & Curb-Agajanian Honda Marco Andretti
Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda Marcus Ericsson
James Hinchcliffe
Carlin Chevrolet Max Chilton
Charlie Kimball
Chip Ganaeei Racing Honda Scott Dixon
Felix Rosenqvist
Dale Coyne Racing Honda Santino Ferrucci
Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan Honda Sebastien Bourdais
Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Chevrolet Sage Karam
Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet Ed Carpenter
Ed Jones
Spencer Pigot
Harding Steinbrenner Racing Honda Colton Herta
Meyer Shank Racing with Arrow SPM Honda Jack Harvey
McLaren Racing Chevrolet Fernando Alonso
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Graham Rahal
Takuma Sato
Team Penske Chevrolet Helio Castroneves
Josef Newgarden
Simon Pagenaud
Will Power

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]