Evans and Jaguar claim maiden Formula E wins

Sunday 14th April, 2019 - 9:13am


Mitch Evans pic: Jaguar Racing Twitter

Mitch Evans has become the seventh different driver to claim victory in the current Formula E season after beating pole-sitter Andre Lotterer at the Rome E-Prix.

The New Zealand driver, and indeed his Jaguar team, claimed a maiden victory in the all-electric championship.

HWA Racelab’s Stoffel Vandoorne rounded out the podium positions, also taking his and the team’s first piece of silverware home.

The race started in damp conditions before it was briefly suspended when a red flag was called only three minutes into the race.

GEOX Dragon’s Jose Maria Lopez overshot the Turn 18 chicane, sending his car head first into the barriers and causing a three-car pileup.

Gary Paffett in the second HWA Racelab machine and reigning champion Jean-Eric Vergne were also involved in the incident.

The trio’s stricken cars completely blocked the race track, giving the stewards no other choice but to suspend the race in order to clear the incident.

Last year’s Rome E-Prix winner Sam Bird was also forced to retire on Lap 1 after getting caught up in his own incident with Lopez.

Just before the red flag flew, the Briton was tagged at the rear by the Argentine, coming into contact with the wall at the Turn 12 chicane and suffering damage to the rear of his car.

The race resumed just under an hour later with pole sitter Lotterer leading Evans and Vandoorne.

Brazilian Felipe Massa suffered a technical failure in his Venturi machine with 23 minutes left to go, making for a second retirement in his maiden season.

His broken down car was left stranded on track with a full course yellow required to bring drivers down to 50km/h while stewards removed his stationary car from the circuit.

Mitch Evans pic: Jaguar Racing Twitter

Evans snatched the lead off Lotterer with 16 minutes to go when he used his final Attack Mode to pass the DS Techeetah driver.

The Auckland-born driver was forced to use more of his energy during the closing stages of the race in order to cover Lotterer’s attack, but crossed the line with just two percent battery life left.

His victory makes up for his heart-breaking defeat last year in Rome where he lost the race from the lead after his car ran out of battery.

It meant that he denied Lotterer a maiden win of his own, while Vandoorne took an impressive third position.

Robin Frijns led Nissan e.dams’ Sebastian Buemi and Oliver Rowland in positions four to six while 2016/17 series champion Lucas Di Grassi crossed the line in seventh.

Jerome D’Ambrosio, Antonio Felix da Costa, and Pascal Wehrlein completed the points paying positions.

Only four points separate the top four drivers in this season’s championship with D’Ambrosio in the Mahindra machine leading the standings by a single point heading into the Paris ePrix.

The French race takes place on April 27 (local time).

Race results: Race 7, Rome

Pos Driver Team Laps Race time/Split
1 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 29 1:33:51.140
2 André Lotterer DS Techeetah 29 +0.979
3 Stoffel Vandoorne HWA Racelab 29 +6.399
4 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing 29 +9.181
5 Sébastien Buemi Nissan e.dams 29 +9.778
6 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams 29 +11.262
7 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 29 +24.340
8 Jérôme d’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing 29 +28.633
9 António Félix da Costa BMW i Andretti Motorsport 29 +30.651
10 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing 29 +30.735
11 Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 29 +32.272
12 Alex Lynn Panasonic Jaguar Racing 29 +42.238
13 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 29 +48.616
14 Jean-Éric Vergne DS Techeetah 29 +49.732
15 Tom Dillmann NIO Formula E Team 29 +52.253
16 José María López Geox Dragon 29 +1:10.373
17 Alexander Sims BMW i Andretti Motorsport 29 +1:11.373
18 Daniel Abt Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 28 +1 Lap
19 Maximilian Günther Geox Dragon 28 +1 Lap
DNF Felipe Massa Venturi Formula E Team 11
DNF Edoardo Mortara Venturi Formula E Team 8
DNF Gary Paffett HWA Racelab

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jérôme d’Ambrosio 65
2 António Félix da Costa 64
3 André Lotterer 62
4 Mitch Evans 61
5 Lucas di Grassi 58
6 Robin Frijns 55
7 Jean-Éric Vergne 54
8 Sam Bird 54
9 Edoardo Mortara 52
10 Daniel Abt 44
11 Pascal Wehrlein 37
12 Oliver Rowland 35
13 Sébastien Buemi 30
14 Stoffel Vandoorne 18
15 Alexander Sims 18
16 Felipe Massa 15
17 Oliver Turvey 6
18 Gary Paffett 4
19 José María López 2
20 Nelson Piquet Jnr 1
21 Tom Dillmann 0
22 Maximilian Günther 0
23 Alex Lynn 0
24 Felipe Nasr 0
25 Felix Rosenqvist 0 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!