Love goes lights-to-flag in Carrera Cup enduro

Jordan Love pic: Carrera Cup Australia Twitter

Jordan Love took a lights-to-flag victory in the opening Porsche Payce Carrera Cup Australia Endurance Cup race at the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint.

Love got the jump off the line and pulled clear of Dale Wood on the run down to the first corner as Nick McBride, Warren Luff and Michael Almond filled out the top five.

As the race approached the halfway mark of the scheduled 24 laps, Almond was teeing up a move for fourth on Luff.

The pass came on on Lap 13 as Almond got by at the Turn 4 Hairpin and while he ran wide and had to defend at the following corner, he ultimately made the move stick.

Almond then began to put pressure on McBride, looking underneath at MG on a number of occasions including the last lap but was unable to get it done.

Love won comfortably ahead of Wood, as McBride hung on for third and Almond beat Luff to the line by less than a tenth in fourth and fifth respectively.

Cameron Hill worked his way by Thomas Maxwell as they finished sixth and seventh, while David Wall, Cooper Murray and Josh Hunt completed the top 10.

Steve Richards finished 11th after starting 13th.

Anthony Gilbertson took Pro-Am honours in 13th outright after class pole-sitter Liam Talbot retired with a driveshaft failure on the formation lap.

Stephen Grove was the biggest mover of the race, coming from 20th outright on the grid to finish 15th outright, third in class behind Sam Shahin.

The second race in Round 3 of Carrera Cup Australia is scheduled for 1440 local time/AEST today.

Results: Race 1

Pos Car Competitor/Team               Driver                   CL Laps   Race Time
1 777 Sonic / Bob Jane T Marts / SRG Jordan Love (WA) P   22  34:07.4293
2 100 Sonic / Polyflor Dale Wood (VIC) P   22  34:13.1705
3   8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride (VIC) P   22  34:14.2992
4  77 Sonic /Bob Jane T-Marts / PSA Michael Almond (TBC) P   22  34:14.5232
5   7 MEGA / No Second Chance Warren Luff (QLD) P   22  34:14.6189
6 111 Seears Workwear Cameron Hill (ACT) P   22  34:17.5126
7   5 Sonic / Hose Power Thomas Maxwell (NT) P   22  34:18.4720
8  38 PAYCE David Wall (NSW) P   22  34:18.6924
9  36 Lodge Brothers Cooper Murray (VIC) P   22  34:19.7702
10  15 ABC Bullion / Volante Rosso Josh Hunt (WA) P   22  34:21.3033
11  12 O’Brien Electrical & Plumbing Steve Richards (VIC) P   22  34:29.7353
12  34 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Duvashen Padayachee NSW P   22  34:40.4697
13  19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) A   22  34:41.8272
14  13 The Bend Motorsport Park / HTF Sam Shahin (SA) A   22  34:45.0615
15   4 Grove Group Stephen Grove (VIC) A   22  34:47.6035
16   6 Garage 1 Tim Miles (NSW) A   22  34:48.7669
17  20 Agas National Adrian Flack (QLD) A   22  34:48.8936
18  23 Dayco / Lago Cold Stores Roger Lago (QLD) A   22  34:52.2837
19  22 BMF Dean Cook (VIC) A   22  35:01.4209
20  35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee (NSW) A   18  35:27.2160
DNF  27 Wash It Liam Talbot (NSW) A

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]