Sato leads RLLR one-two in qualifying at Barber

Sunday 7th April, 2019 - 9:17am


Takuma Sato

Takuma Sato has qualified on pole for the Barber Motorsports Park IndyCar race as Team Penske and Andretti Autosport both missed the Fast Six entirely.

Sato (#30 Honda) knocked Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing team-mate Graham Rahal (#15 Honda) off top spot in the latter seconds with his only flyer on red tyres, having started the final stanza on blacks.

The Japanese driver’s 1:08.5934s pit him just over a tenth of a second clear of Rahal, while the second row will be Scott Dixon (#9 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) and James Hinchcliffe (#5 Schmidt Peterson Honda).

Sebastien Bourdais (#18 DCR w/ Vasser-Sullivan Honda) was fifth at a touch over four tenths off the pace, while Spencer Pigot was the only Chevrolet driver in the final six in the #21 Ed Carpenter Racing entry.

Will Power, who was on pole for each of the first two races of the season, qualified seventh in the #12 Team Penske Chevrolet, while his team-mates Simon Pagenaud (#22 Chevrolet) and Josef Newgarden (#2 Chevrolet) were only 14th and 16th respectively.

Power had made a minor error on his first flying lap in the second phase of qualifying which proved costly when he couldn’t extract the time he needed on the next tour of the sweeping road course.

Sharing Row 4 with the Australian is the first of the Andretti Autosport entries in the #27 Honda of Alexander Rossi.

Last start winner Colton Herta (#88 Harding Steinbrenner Racing Honda) and fellow rookie Santino Ferrucci (#19 Dale Coyne Racing Honda) round out the top 10.

The 90-lap race starts tomorrow at 0600 AEST.

Starting grid: Barber Motorsports Park

Pos Num Driver C/E/T Time Session
1 30 Takuma Sato D/H/F 1:08.5934 Fast Six
2 15 Graham Rahal D/H/F 1:08.6971 Fast Six
3 9 Scott Dixon D/H/F 1:08.8081 Fast Six
4 5 James Hinchcliffe D/H/F 1:08.8476 Fast Six
5 18 Sebastien Bourdais D/H/F 1:09.0189 Fast Six
6 21 Spencer Pigot D/C/F 1:09.6074 Fast Six
7 12 Will Power D/C/F 1:08.8248 Top 12
8 27 Alexander Rossi D/H/F 1:08.8866 Top 12
9 88 Colton Herta (R) D/H/F 1:08.9130 Top 12
10 19 Santino Ferrucci (R) D/H/F 1:09.0213 Top 12
11 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay D/H/F 1:09.0764 Top 12
12 60 Jack Harvey D/H/F 1:09.2967 Top 12
13 98 Marco Andretti D/H/F 1:08.8950 Group 1
14 22 Simon Pagenaud D/C/F 1:08.7943 Group 2
15 4 Matheus Leist D/C/F 1:08.9477 Group 1
16 2 Josef Newgarden D/C/F 1:08.8700 Group 2
17 10 Felix Rosenqvist (R) D/H/F 1:08.9630 Group 1
18 31 Patricio O’Ward (R) D/C/F 1:08.9011 Group 2
19 14 Tony Kanaan D/C/F 1:09.0327 Group 1
20 7 Marcus Ericsson (R) D/H/F 1:08.9226 Group 2
21 20 Ed Jones D/C/F 1:09.0441 Group 1
22 59 Max Chilton D/C/F 1:09.0566 Group 2
23 26 Zach Veach D/H/F 1:09.4478 Group 1
24 81 Ben Hanley (R) D/C/F 1:10.4165 Group 2

(C)hassis: D=Dallara | (E)ngine: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (T)yre: F=Firestone comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!