AMRS Wrap: Seton dominates TA2 at Morgan Park

Aaron Seton pic: Pete Trapnell


Aaron Seton has continued his domination of the 2019 TA2 Muscle Car Series with wins in both of Saturday’s races.

After qualifying on pole position by over a second, Seton pulled away from George Miedecke to claim victories in both races.

Russell Wright was third in both races, with Ashley Jarvis and Nathan Herne battling over fourth and fifth positions.

The second race was interrupted by a lengthy Safety Car intervention when Tim Tritton crashed heavily on the exit of Turn 3; while Tritton was unharmed, his car sustained significant damage.

John Magro pic: Pete Trapnell

Formula 3

John Magro continued his perfect start to the 2019 Australian Formula 3 Championship with pole position and victory in Race 1.

The R-Tek Motorsport driver was beaten off the line Richard Peasey, who held the lead for seven of the 10 laps until a mistake at Turn 10 enabled Magro to slip up the inside.

Peasey finished second ahead of his Gilmour Racing team-mate Josh Buchan in third place.

Gerrit Ruff won the National Class, defeating Roman Krumins and Andrew Roberts.

Aaron Prosser pic: Pete Trapnell

Mazda RX8 Cup

Aaron Prosser claimed his first Mazda RX8 Cup pole position and won both of Saturday’s races.

In Race 1, Prosser was initially challenged by Will Harris who spun at Turn 2, allowing Ben Silvestro into second place ahead of Terry Lewis.

Prosser then drove to an unchallenged win from Silvestro in Race 2.

Having struggled with brake problems, points leader Stephen McLaine salvaged a third-place finish.

Wayne Hennig pic: Pete Trapnell

Queensland Production Sports

Wayne Hennig won a pair of drama-filled races in his Porsche 911, fending off challenges from fellow Porsche racer Steve McFadden and Ginetta driver Jeff Hume.

Hennig narrowly held out Jeff Hume in the opening race, while Graham Lusty brought his Mosler home in third position.

James Wilkins won Class 2F for the production-spec cars.

Race 2 saw Hennig again withstand pressure from Hume in the early laps.

McFadden charged through the field to briefly challenge for the lead only to spin at Turn 2 as he finished second ahead of Prefontaine.

Class 2F win went to Mazda MX5 driver Shane Freese.

Steve Hay pic: Pete Trapnell

Queensland Touring Car Championship

Steve Hay scored a pair of comprehensive race victories in the Queensland Touring Car Championship races.

The contest for second saw Brett Kennedy and Bailey Hall battling throughout both races, the former emerging on top on both occasions.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]