Verstappen denies Schumacher fastest lap on Day 1 of testing

Wednesday 3rd April, 2019 - 7:53am


Max Verstappen

A late effort from Max Verstappen saw the Red Bull Racing driver take top spot from Mick Schumacher on the first day of Formula 1 testing in Bahrain.

Verstappen clocked a 1:29.379s with five minutes remaining in the day on C3 tyres which took him well clear of Schumacher and Lando Norris.

Schumacher was eighth fastest during a long wet period before he took his Ferrari to a 1:29.976s on C5 (softest) tyres during the final 90 minutes when cars got back on-track.

There was a shower during the third hour of running before more rain saw drivers stay in the pits for around four hours after no teams opted for anything other than slicks in their tyre allocation.

As such, Norris, who was sharing a McLaren with Carlos Sainz, only clocked up 22 laps as he finished the day in one of two MCL34s in the field.

Sainz ended up ninth, setting his best time of 1:32.059s on C2 tyres, while Fernando Alonso was 11th on his F1 return while testing for Pirelli.

Romain Grosjean (Haas), Alexander Albon (Scuderia Toro Rosso), and Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), like Norris, set their respective fastest laps on C3 tyres as they filled fourth through sixth respectively.

Grosjean’s personal best of 1:30.982s was in fact the benchmark prior to the long rain delay.

Daniel Ricciardo was seventh fastest on C4 tyres in the Renault.

Lance Stroll’s Racing Point car brought a slightly early end to the day when it stopped with a couple of minutes left to run, at which time the Canadian was eighth fastest.

Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo) rounded out the top 10, with testing to conclude from tonight (AEDT).

Results: Formula 1 In-Season Test, Bahrain, Day 1

Pos Driver Team Time Tyres Laps
1 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:29.379 C3 62
2 Mick Schumacher Ferrari 1:29.976 C5 56
3 Lando Norris McLaren 1:30.800 C3 22
4 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:30.982 C3 42
5 Alexander Albon Toro Rosso 1:31.089 C3 71
6 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:31.156 C3 77
7 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1:31.584 C4 45
8 Lance Stroll Racing Point 1:31.964 C3 32
9 Carlos Sainz McLaren 1:32.059 C2 32
10 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 1:32.067 C3 53
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:32.207 Pirelli test 64
12 Pietro Fittipaldi Haas 1:32.708 C3 20
13 Robert Kubica Williams 1:33.290 C3 19
14 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:33.653 Pirelli test 45
15 George Russell Williams 1:33.682 C3 27 comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!