Perkins, Bargwanna names return to Aus Formula Ford ranks

Formula Ford starts this weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park

The Perkins and Bargwanna families will be represented on the grid as part of a 26-car field for this weekend’s first round of Australian Formula Ford at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Hank Perkins, son of Terry and nephew of Larry, both of whom won the TAA Formula Ford Driver To Europe Series in the 1970s, will make his debut in the national series with BF Racing.

He will be joined in the leading Duratec class by Ben Bargwanna (Bargwanna Motorsport), son of Jason, who has added a handful of national rounds to his planned full Victorian Formula Ford campaign.

Other Duratec debutants include karter Jay Hanson (Sonic Motor Racing Services) and Josh Glinn (Anglo Motorsport) from the FF1600 ranks.

Hunter McElrea used his victory in last year’s series to tread a path to USF2000, in which he sits second in the standings after twin podiums in his maiden race weekend, while runner-up Hamish Ribarits has stepped up to the Kumho Tyre Super3 Series.

That leaves Zac Soutar (Team Soutar Motorsport) as the highest placed driver from last year’s standings in the field, while the other top 10 finishers from season 2018 who are entered this weekend are Lachlan Mineeff (CHE Racing Team), Angelo Mouzouris (Sonic), Liam McLellan (Borland Racing Developments), Thomas Sargent (CHE), and Cody Donald.

Qualifying and Race 1 take place on Saturday before two more races on Sunday.

Entry list: Round 1, Sydney Motorsport Park

Num Driver Team/Sponsor
Formula Ford (Duratec)
2 Angelo Mouzouris Sonic Motor Racing Services
3 Courtney Prince Sonic Motor Racing Services
4 Jay Hanson Sonic Motor Racing Services
5 Callum Hedge Sonic Motor Racing Services
6 Paul Zsidy Borland Racing Developments
10 Zac Soutar Team Soutar Motorsport
14 Lachlan Mineeff CHE Racing Team
17 Lachlan Ward Anglo Motorsport
23 Hank Perkins BF Racing
35 Jake Donaldson Jake Donaldson Racing
36 Cody Burcher Westend Mazda
40 Daniel Holihan Anglo Motorsport
47 Thomas Sargent CHE Racing Team
53 Ben Bargwanna Bargwanna Motorsport
60 Cody Donald
88 Harrison Goodman BF Racing
97 Liam McLellan Borland Racing Developments
98 Conor Nicholson Nicholson Motorsport
FF1600 (Kent)
32 Mitch Gatenby Anglo Motorsport
48 Scott Tidyman SKT Motorsport
51 Shane Nichols Motorsport Connections
77 John Pereira
80 Jason Liddell Donate Life
87 Tim Hamilton
94 Joshua Glinn JGR/Castle Hill Toyota
147 Jarrod Costello Team Cosbro Racing

Schedule (Local time)

Time Session
Saturday April 6
0920 Qualifying
1225 Race 1
Sunday April 7
0920 Race 2
1250 Race 3

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]