Teams confirm Bahrain F1 test drivers

Mat Coch

Tuesday 2nd April, 2019 - 11:58am


Lewis Hamilton

All 10 Formula 1 teams have confirmed the drivers they’ll field in this week’s two-day test in Bahrain, starting tonight.

It marks the first of two official in-season tests with another set to follow the Spanish Grand Prix in May.

Regulations severely limit the amount of testing teams can do, with the official sessions their only opportunity to gain track mileage outside of a race weekend once the season gets underway.

Teams had just eight days of pre-season testing in February across two tests, both held at Barcelona.

Pirelli will also have an opportunity to test and develop new tyres, with cars from McLaren and Toro Rosso.

Fernando Alonso will drive one of the cars for the Italian tyre company, sharing duties with Carlos Sainz, while Daniil Kvyat will take control of the Toro Rosso.

Of the four in-season days of testing across the two tests (Bahrain and Barcelona), two days must be given over to ‘rookies’, or drivers who have competed in fewer than two grands prix.

Mercedes ticks that box in Bahrain with George Russell, the Mercedes junior last weekend started his second race for Williams, for whom he’ll drive on Tuesday.

Mick Schumacher will be a rookie driver for both Ferrari and Alfa Romeo, while Dan Ticktum (Red Bull), Jack Aitken (Renault), Pietro Fittipaldi (Racing Point), and Nicholas Latifi (Williams) are also set to climb into cars as ‘rookie’ drivers.

By not running a rookie at this test, Racing Point and Toro Rosso will both have to run both days at the Barcelona test with a young driver.

The Bahrain test runs until Wednesday after which point teams will pack up and head to Shanghai for the Chinese Grand Prix on April 12-14.

Tuesday, April 2 Wednesday, April 3
Mercedes Lewis Hamilton George Russell
Ferrari Mick Schumacher Sebastian Vettel
Red Bull Max Verstappen Dan Ticktum
Renault Daniel Ricciardo Jack Aitken
Haas Romain Grosjean Pietro Fittipaldi
McLaren Carlos Sainz
Lando Norris
Lando Norris
Racing Point Lance Stroll Sergio Perez
Alfa Romeo Antonio Giovinazzi Mick Schumacher
Toro Rosso Alexander Albon Alexander Albon
Williams George Russell
Robert Kubica
Nicholas Latifi
McLaren (Pirelli) Fernando Alonso Carlos Sainz
Fernando Alonso
Toro Rosso (Pirelli) Daniil Kvyat Daniil Kvyat comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!