Dovizioso edges Miller in Argentina Friday practice

Saturday 30th March, 2019 - 8:28am


Andrea Dovizioso pic:

Andrea Dovizioso has beaten Jack Miller to top spot in Friday practice for the Argentina MotoGP by 0.009s.

Free Practice 1 pace-setter Marc Marquez held top spot for much of the second session, and sat on a 1:39.497s before most of the field took new rear tyres for the final flyers.

Cal Crutchlow, on his Castrol LCR Honda, was the first to usurp the Repsol Honda rider as FP2 moved into its final five minutes with a 1:39.346s.

Miller, who crashed at Turn 13 early in the session, then wheeled his Pramac Ducati to a 1:39.190s before factory counterpart Dovizioso logged a 1:39.181s on the #04 Mission Winnow Ducati.

Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha), Crutchlow, and rookie Fabio Quartararo (Petronas SRT Yamaha) rounded out the top five.

Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha) was sixth while Marquez fell to eighth having not gone for a fresh tyre at the end.

Jorge Lorenzo (Repsol Honda) was almost a second off the pace in 21st.

FP3 starts on Sunday at 0050 AEDT, ahead of FP4 at 0425 and qualifying from 0505.

Friday Practice: Qatar MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Sess.
1 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati 1:39.181 FP2
2 43 Jack MILLER AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 1:39.190 FP2
3 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:39.345 FP2
4 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:39.346 FP2
5 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:39.357 FP2
6 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:39.441 FP2
7 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:39.451 FP2
8 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:39.497 FP2
9 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:39.503 FP2
10 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:39.629 FP2
11 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:39.654 FP2
12 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:39.697 FP2
13 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati 1:39.740 FP2
14 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1:39.799 FP2
15 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:39.946 FP2
16 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:39.951 FP2
17 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:39.956 FP2
18 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:39.995 FP2
19 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 1:40.006 FP2
20 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:40.110 FP2
21 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:40.159 FP2
22 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 1:40.752 FP2 comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!