Record field for Super3 opener at Phillip Island

The Super3 field at Phillip Island last year pic: Ross Gibb

The 2019 Kumho Tyre Super3 Series will commence with a record 25-car field at Phillip Island next month.

The grid, the equal biggest of the three Supercars series in what is Super3’s first year as the official third tier, features a host of up-and-comers alongside some stalwarts of the series.

MW Motorsport has expanded its Super3 operation from two FG Falcons to three, fielding its 2018 runner-up Zak Best alongside ex-Formula Ford driver Hamish Ribarits and ex-Toyota 86 driver Nic Carroll.

Brad Jones Racing is running two drivers fresh out of karting in its VE Commodores, namely Josh Fife and Madeline Stewart, while Matt McLean makes the same step in the sole Image Racing FG Falcon.

Paul Morris Motorsport has second-year car racer Broc Feeney in its FG Falcon while current Formula 4 champion Jayden Ojeda is moving into Anderson Motorsport’s FG Falcon which was previously raced by Michael Anderson himself.

Of the aforementioned, seven are teenagers, also a record for the series.

Aussie Racing Cars front-runner Kyle Ensbey has moved up to race a VE Commodore, and talent search winner Matt Powers lines up in an FG Falcon.

Matt Stone Racing, like BJR, will run through all three tiers of Supercars, adding a third FG Falcon for team co-owner Jason Gomersall alongside Chris Smerdon and Bradley Neill.

Other familiar faces in the field include Super3 race winners Jon McCorkindale and Jim Pollicina, the latter of whom will compete for the Kumho Cup for ‘pro-am’ drivers.

“It’s an exciting time for the series and the perfect way to start a new season,” said category manager Liam Curkpatrick.

“The combination of an excellent calendar that includes four events on the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship calendar, a continued focus on affordability and a stable package has seen interest grow in the series in the last few years.”

The first of five rounds supports the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint on April 12-14.

Entry list: Round 1, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Num Class Team/Sponsor Driver Car
2 Kumho Cup Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Commodore VE II
3 Kumho Cup Edge Consulting Engineers Shane Hunt Ford Falcon BF
4 Kumho Cup Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF
5 Championship MW Motorsport Hamish Ribartis Ford Falcon FG
7 Kumho Cup Mocomm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina Commodore VE
8 Championship Brad Jones Racing Madeline Stewart Commodore VE II
9 Kumho Cup Neill Motorsport Bradley Neill Ford Falcon FG
11 Championship Direction Plus Jayden Ojeda Ford Falcon FG
12 Championship Image Racing Matt McLean Ford Falcon FG
14 Championship Brad Jones Racing Josh Fife Commodore VE II
17 Kumho Cup TFMaintenance Jason Foley Ford Falcon BF
19 Kumho Cup Auto Openers Garage Door Openers Mark Tracey Ford Falcon BA
21 Championship KE Motorsport Kyle Ensbey Commodore VE
23 Kumho Cup HF Racing Francois Habib Commodore VZ
35 Kumho Cup Matt Stone Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG
37 Championship Aussie Driver Search Matt Powers Ford Falcon FG
39 Kumho Cup Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG
48 Championship MW Motorsport Nic Carroll Ford Falcon FG
67 Championship Exit Timeshare Now Racing Broc Feeney Ford Falcon FG
69 Championship Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motorsport Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon FG
75 Kumho Cup Strong Motorsport Brendan Strong Commodore VE II
76 Kumho Cup Garry Hills Racing Garry Hills Commodore VE II
78 Championship MW Motorsport Zak Best Ford Falcon FG
84 Kumho Cup Rsport Race Engineering TBA Commodore VE
96 Kumho Cup Protrack Automotive Performance Gary Collins Commodore VE II

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]