Ambrose caps off list of 13 new Hall of Fame inductees

Marcos Ambrose

Marcos Ambrose has capped off the list of 13 new inductees at the Australian Motor Sports Hall of Fame dinner presented by Famous Insurance at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre tonight.

The talented Tasmanian was rewarded for a lifetime of dedication to the sport which saw him become an international star and the only Australian to win a NASCAR Sprint Cup event.

Ambrose rose through the karting and Formula Ford ranks before heading to Europe to further his career.

He returned to Australia in 2001 and made his first Supercars appearance at the Australian Grand Prix with Stone Brothers Racing and became only the second driver to take pole at the Bathurst 1000 on debut later that year.

He went on to win two Supercars Championships in 2003 and 04 and finished his V8 career with 27 wins from 147 starts.

He decided to move his focus to the US in 2006 and began his NASCAR career in the Camping World Truck Series. Before progressing to the Nationwide Series and then on to the Sprint Cup Series.

He won two NASCAR events at the highest level as well as five events in the second-tier Nationwide championship.

He returned to Australia to join DJR Team Penske in 2015, but handed the full-time ride to Scott Pye after the opening round.

He returned to be Pye’s co-driver for the Pirtek Enduro Cup where they finished eighth in the Saturday race at Surfers Paradise.

While there was no official announcement, Ambrose essentially retired from the sport at the end of the 2015 season and now has business interests back in his home state of Tasmania.

There were only three circuit racers included on this year’s honor roll including Hope Bartlett and seven-time Bathurst winner Craig Lowndes who was pre-announced as an inductee last month.

“Many of my racing heroes have been inducted into the Hall of Fame and it is an honour and a little humbling to be inducted tonight,” said Ambrose.

“Motorsport has enabled myself and my family some amazing experiences and a terrific life – being inducted tonight is one of those moments. The highs and lows of racing creates a hell of a ride and it is a privilege to receive an award like this, especially when it is decided by your peers.

“Race wins and championships can come and go, but respect by your peers is the ultimate reward to be won.

“I am thankful to have my wife (Sonja) who’s been by my side during it all and also my father (Ross) with me tonight to thank them for their tremendous support in the journey.”

Motorcycling was represented by four recipients from four different disciplines including Speedway ace Phil Crump, Ray Fisher (motocross), Eric Hinton (circuit racing) and Stefan Merriman (trials/enduro).

Drag racing was represented by Larry Ormsby and Eddie Thomas.

Sprintcar legend Max Dumesny was rewarded for his fantastic career as was off-road ace David Fellows.

Rally competitor and famed member of the media Even Green and respected team boss and promoter Allan Horsley also got a gong.

1980 Formula 1 World Champion Alan Jones rounded out the night by being elevated to legend status beside Sir Jack Brabham and Mick Doohan.

Hall of Fame chairman Garry Connelly was delighted with the success of the night which included a speech from FIA President Jean Todt and a surprise appearance from Mercedes team boss Toto Wolff.

The night included an emotional tribute to FIA Race Director Charlie Whiting, who tragically passed away in Melbourne two days ago, which resulted in a standing ovation from the sell-out crowd.

“We sold out tonight’s event well in advance which is another great sign of the success of this concept,” said Connelly.

“We had another quality list of recipients and I think all our guests enjoyed the stories which these nights tend to produce.

“After four years, the Hall of Fame event has really cemented itself as an integral part of the Australian Grand Prix weekend.”


Circuit Racing
Craig Lowndes
Marcos Ambrose
Hope Bartlett (D)

Motorcycling – Speedway
Phil Crump

Motorcycling – Motocross
Ray Fisher

Motorcycling – Circuit
Eric Hinton (D)

Motorcycling – Trials/Enduro
Stefan Merriman

Drag Racing
Eddie Thomas (D)
Larry Ormsby

Max Dumesny

David Fellows

Special category
Evan Green (D)
Allan Horsley

Legend Status
Alan Jones

Ronald J Walker Award for Excellence winners
Toby Price and Will Power


Formula 1
Sir Jack Brabham
Alan Jones
Phil Irving

Other Circuit Racing
Harry Firth
Bob Jane
Peter Brock
Dick Johnson
Allan Moffat
Frank Matich

Lionel van Praag
Jack Young
Jason Crump
Kel Carruthers
Wayne Gardner
Mick Doohan
Casey Stoner
Gregg Hansford
Troy Bayliss
Stephen Gall
Jeff Leisk

Ray Revell
Garry Rush

‘Gelignite’ Jack Murray
Colin Bond
Ross Dunkerton

James Courtney

Drag Racing
Ash Marshall

Mark Burrows

Land Speed
Norman ‘Wizard’ Smith

Special category
Donald Kingsley Thompson – Administration


Circuit Racing
Alexander Nicholas ‘Lex’ Davison
Jim Richards
Mark Skaife
Frank Gardner
Kevin Bartlett
Larry Perkins
Vern Schuppan

Motorcycle Racing
Keith Ronald Campbell
Thomas Edward Phillis
Troy Corser

Peter ‘Possum’ Bourne
Neal Bates
Coral Taylor

Motorcycle – Speedway
Arthur George ‘Bluey’ Wilkinson
Leigh Scott Adams

Motorcycle – Motocross
Ken Rumble

Drag Racing
Jim Read

John Pizarro

Speedway Cars
Johnny Stewart

Special Category
John Large – Administration
Ron Tauranac – Engineer


Circuit Racing
David Brabham
Geoff Brabham
John Bowe
John Harvey
Tim Schenken
Mark Webber

Frank Kilfoyle (D)
Greg Carr

Off Road
Craig Martin

Drew Price

Motorcycle Road Racing
Ken Kavanagh
Matt Mladin

Motorcycle Motocross
Gary Flood

Motorcycle Speedway
Billy Sanders (D)
Aub Lawson (D)

Speedway Cars
George Tatnell (D)

Drag Racing
Graeme Cowin

Frank Arthur (D)
Mike Raymond
Jeremy Burgess

Legend Status
Sir Jack Brabham (D)
Mick Doohan

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]