Mostert fastest by four tenths in Practice 1

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert has has finished on top of Practice 1 for the Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 by a healthy 0.4s margin, having used new tyres at the end.

Mostert leapt up from 18th in the final two minutes of the 30-minute session with a 1:55.5743s in the Supercheap Auto Mustang.

Anton De Pasquale ended up second from Jamie Whincup (Red Bull HRT ZB Commodore), Mark Winterbottom (Irwin ZB Commodore), and the second Tickford Mustang of Lee Holdsworth, while Virgin Australia Supercars Championship leader Scott McLaughlin was shuffled back to eighth.

Mostert’s, however, was not a trouble-free session and he also confirmed that he used a new tyre to set his lap time.

“Session was pretty tough for us,” he revealed.

“We had a little comm(unications) issue so couldn’t really hear what Adam (de Borre, engineer) was saying and couldn’t relay what I needed back from the car.

“Obviously putting a green tyre on there at the end it really showed some pace in the car but probably a little bit of tuning up to do.

“Probably a qualifying car it was pretty good, which was nice to be in Practice 1, but no doubt there will be a lot of other quick guys coming for us in the next one.”

McLaughlin had held top spot for much of the session in the #17 Shell V-Power Mustang with a 1:56.6542s on his second flyer.

With the Kiwi having gone no quicker thereafter, Scott Pye took over the lead for a handful of seconds before Whincup put just over half a second between himself and the rest of the field with a 1:56.0824s.

Mostert then bettered Whincup’s lap by almost the same margin, before De Pasquale split them shortly after in the #99 Penrite ZB Commodore at 0.4299s off the pace.

Winterbottom jumped from 19th to fourth with the chequered flag out, 0.6305s away from Mostert and only 0.0046s faster than the man with whom he effectively swapped seats, Holdsworth (The Bottle-O Racing).

James Courtney ended up best of the Mobil 1 Mega ZB Commodores at one position and just over a tenth of a second faster than Pye.

Behind them and McLaughlin was Cameron Waters (Monster Energy Mustang), while Simona De Silvestro (Harvey Norman Altima) improved after the chequered flag to be best of the Kelly Racing entries in 10th, bumping Richie Stanaway (Boost Mobile ZB Commodore) out of the top 10.

Both Shane van Gisbergen’s and Nick Percat’s ZB Commodores were afflicted by splitter flap.

The former did not set a fully representative time and ended up all the way back in 22nd position in the #97 Triple Eight entry, while Percat managed to get back out and drag a 1:57.1286s from the #8 Freightliner BJR car which put it 13th.

Will Davison, meanwhile, took 12th after the Milwaukee Mustang had to have an oil cooler line replaced.

Fabian Coulthard (DJR Team Penske Mustang) was 14th and David Reynolds (Erebus ZB Commodore) 16th.

Practice 2, another half-hour session, starts today at 1500 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 1:55.5743  
2 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:56.0042 0:00.4299
3 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:56.0824 0:00.5081
4 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:56.2048 0:00.6305
5 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:56.2094 0:00.6351
6 22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:56.4836 0:00.9093
7 2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:56.5851 0:01.0108
8 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 1:56.6542 0:01.0799
9 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:56.6584 0:01.0841
10 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:56.6979 0:01.1236
11 33 Boost Mobile Racing Richie Stanaway Holden Commodore ZB 1:56.7970 0:01.2227
12 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:57.0884 0:01.5141
13 8 Freightliner Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:57.1286 0:01.5543
14 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 1:57.1492 0:01.5749
15 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:57.2580 0:01.6837
16 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:57.2939 0:01.7196
17 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:57.3008 0:01.7265
18 3 Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 1:57.3819 0:01.8076
19 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:57.5438 0:01.9695
20 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:57.5550 0:01.9807
21 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:57.5572 0:01.9829
22 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:58.2982 0:02.7239
23 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:58.6975 0:03.1232
24 19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:59.7617 0:04.1874

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]