Record Formula 4 field for AGP

Mat Coch

Monday 11th March, 2019 - 2:48pm


A record 18-car field has entered for the opening round of the Australian F4 Championship

A record grid of of 18 cars has been entered for the opening round of the 2019 CAMS Payce Formula 4 Australia Championship.

The strong field comes as the feeder series makes its first appearance on the support bill for the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix, with a number of ‘gentleman’ drivers complementing the youngsters who have typically filled its ranks.

CAMS confirmed to last month that it had relaxed driver eligibility restrictions, opening the way for older drivers to participate in what had otherwise been a purely developmental category.

Luis Leeds was the first to take advantage of the change, returning to the category he competed in throughout 2015, before making one-off appearances in 2016 and 2017.

Experienced racer Dylan Thomas will make his Formula 4 debut, having raced in Formula Vee, the Australian Production Car Series, and Toyota 86 Racing Series..

He’ll be joined by fellow gentleman racer Brenton Griguol and journeyman Aaron Zerefos.

Despite the opening of regulations to attract more competitors, the field remains predominantly aspiring racers, headed by 2018 champion Jayden Ojeda who is making a one-off return to the series.

Jackson Burton and Emerson Harvey step into the category from Formula Ford and karting respectively, while British F4 racer Christian Lester will also compete.

It will also marks the first time in the championship’s history that all available chassis will be used.

The opening round of the championship will see a single practice session prior to the Castrol Pole Position qualifying session on Thursday.

Three races then follow across the three days, with one apiece on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.

Entry List: CAMS Payce Australian Formula 4, Round 1

#1 – Jayden Ojeda – AGI Sport
#5 – Ryan Suhle – Team BRM
#9 – Taylor Cockerton (NZ) – MTEC Motorsport
#11 – Jackson Walls – Patrizicorse
#12 – Josh Smith – AGI Sport
#14 – Matt Holmes – JRD
#15 – Lochie Hughes – Team BRM
#16 – Tommy Smith – Team BRM
#21 – Christian Lester (GBR) – Rossoverde Racing
#23 – Luis Leeds – AGI Sport
#29 – Aaron Zerefos – Patrizicorse
#31 – Heath Collinson – JRD
#39 – Antonio Astuti – AGI Sport
#57 – Jackson Burton – AGI Sport
#68 – Dylan Thomas – Tank Motorsport
#69 – Brenton Griguol – Team BRM
#76 – Emerson Harvey – Team BRM
#99 – Ryan Yardley (NZ) – MTEC Motorsport comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!