Ogier takes maximum points from Rally Mexico

Monday 11th March, 2019 - 7:52am


Sebastien Ogier

Sebastien Ogier largely kept out of trouble, unlike many of his rivals, to win Rally Mexico overall and the Power Stage.

Ogier was handed the lead when Andreas Mikkelsen ran over a rock on Friday and, after a brief challenge from Kris Meeke on the Saturday, the Citroen driver was a comfortable winner in the end.

Toyota Gazoo’s Ott Tanak held on to his World Rally Championship lead by finishing the event in second position, 30.2s back from the title holder, while Elfyn Evans put his M-Sport Ford on the podium.

Thierry Neuville took fourth in his i20 but it was still a disastrous showing from the Hyundai team with both Mikkelsen and Dani Sordo among the retirements.

Mikkelsen had won Stages 2 and 4 and held top spot at the end of the Friday morning loop but the rock put him out and he could only manage 11th overall after coming back under Rally2 regulations.

Ogier steadily increased his advantage through Friday, in part due to woes for more of his competitors, but fell behind Meeke when Car #1 picked up a puncture on the Saturday morning run through Guanajuatito.

His time loss was reduced when he received a notional time due to team-mate Esapekka Lappi getting stuck just off-course, before Meeke’s Yaris also sustained a puncture.

From there, Ogier was never headed, even if he did slip into a hay bale on Saturday afternoon.

The Frenchman went on to help himself to five Power Stage points after just pipping Meeke on the Sunday run through Las Minas.

Evans and Tanak held second and third respectively all the way from Special Stage 11, in which Meeke copped that puncture, until the Estonian overhauled the Brit at the start of Sunday.

Neuville was 1:27.0s behind the winner and 37.1s off third in the end but also took three Power Stage points.

Meeke salvaged fifth, and four Power Stage points, despite also hitting a tyre bundle and suffering gearbox problems on Saturday.

Mexican Benito Guerra won the WRC2 class in sixth outright in his Skoda Fabia R5, while Lukasz Pieniazek topped WRC2 Pro in 12th outright in an M-Sport Ford.

Jari-Matti Latvala came back under Rally2 following an electrical problem for his Toyota to finish eighth overall and collect a Power Stage point.

A position further back for the event was Sordo, who also retired during the weekend with a battery problem before taking two points each from his overall result and Power Stage performance.

Lappi was 14th in the end, also via Rally2.

Teemu Suninen’s rally came to an early end when crashed his M-Sport Ford on a rockface during the Friday morning pass through El Chocolate.

Round 4 is the Tour de Corse in France on March 28-31.

Rally Mexico: Results (Top 10)

Pos Num Driver Team Elig Grp cls Time/Gap
1 1 S. OGIER Citroen Total WRT M RC1 3:37:08.0
2 8 O. TÄNAK Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT M RC1 +30.2
3 33 E. EVANS M-Sport Ford World Rally Team M RC1 +49.9
4 11 T. NEUVILLE Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT M RC1 +1:27.0
5 5 K. MEEKE Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT M RC1 +6:06.2
6 41 B. GUERRA Benito Guerra WRC2 RC2 +15:35.5
7 42 M. BULACIA WILKINSON Marco Bulacia Wilkinson WRC2 RC2 +18:51.5
8 10 J. LATVALA Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT M RC1 +18:55.9
9 6 D. SORDO Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT M RC1 +22:44.1
10 81 R. TRIVINO BUJALIL Ricardo Triviño Bujalil None RC2 +26:21.7

Rally Mexico: Power Stage (Bonus points)

Pos Num Driver Team Time/Gap Bonus
1 1 Sébastien OGIER Citroen Total WRT 6:30.4 5
2 5 Kris MEEKE Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT +0.0 4
3 11 Thierry NEUVILLE Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT +0.5 3
4 6 Dani SORDO Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT +4.8 2
5 4 Esapekka LAPPI Citroen Total WRT +4.9 1

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Nat Pts
1 Ott TÄNAK EST 65
2 Sébastien OGIER FRA 61
3 Thierry NEUVILLE BEL 55
4 Kris MEEKE GBR 35
5 Elfyn EVANS GBR 28
6 Esapekka LAPPI FIN 20
7 Sébastien LOEB FRA 18
8 Jari-Matti LATVALA FIN 14
9 Andreas MIKKELSEN NOR 12
10 Benito GUERRA MEX 8
13 Dani SORDO ESP 4
14 Pontus TIDEMAND SWE 4
15 Yoann BONATO FRA 4
16 Stéphane SARRAZIN FRA 2
17 Ole Christian VEIBY NOR 2
18 Teemu SUNINEN FIN 1
19 Adrien FOURMAUX FRA 1
20 Janne TUOHINO SWE 1
22 Guillaume DE MEVIUS BEL 0
24 Lorenzo BERTELLI ITA 0
25 Marcus GRÖNHOLM FIN 0

Manufacturers’ championship

Pos Team Pts
1 Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT 86
2 Citroen Total WRT 78
3 Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT 77
4 M-Sport Ford World Rally Team 45 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!