Field of 24 set for IndyCar opener in St Petersburg

The start of last year’s St Petersburg race

A 24-car field will race on the streets of St Petersburg in this weekend’s first race of the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series.

Scott Dixon retains #9 despite winning last year’s series and will have a rookie team-mate at Chip Ganassi Racing (CGR) in Swede Felix Rosenqvist.

Team Penske’s three-car line-up of Will Power, Simon Pagenaud, and Josef Newgarden carries over, although the latter is back in Car #2 after being dethroned by Dixon.

Andretti Autosport continues to field with Alexander Rossi, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Zach Veach, and Marco Andretti, the latter in the Andretti Herta with Marco & Curb-Agajanian entry.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports has signed Sauber Formula 1 outcast Marcus Ericsson in Robert Wickens’ seat, alongside James Hinchcliffe, while Jack Harvey’s partial season in the Meyer Shank Racing with SPM car starts at the opening round.

Sebastien Bourdais has a new team-mate at Dale Coyne Racing in the form of Santino Ferrucci, and Charlie Kimball is now a part-timer at Carlin, where Max Chilton will continue for the full season.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (Graham Rahal, Takuma Sato) and AJ Foyt Racing (Tony Kanaan, Matheus Leist) are both unchanged.

Ed Jones has landed at Ed Carpenter Racing after a season at CGR, in the car which Carpenter himself will race on ovals, while Spencer Pigot gets a second full season with the team.

Harding Steinbrenner Racing has slimmed back to a single car for 2018 Indy Lights runner-up Colton Herta having also planned to field the man who beat him to the title, Patricio O’Ward, before failing to source sufficient funding.

Sportscar outfit DragonSpeed and its driver Ben Hanley, both of which are on debut, round out the St Petersburg entry list for the start of their planned five-round campaign.

Entry list: Race 1, St Petersburg

Num Driver   Team Engine
2 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Chevrolet
4 Matheus Leist AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet
5 James Hinchcliffe Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda
7 Marcus Ericsson R Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda
9 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
10 Felix Rosenqvist R Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
12 Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet
14 Tony Kanaan AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet
15 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
18 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan Honda
19 Santino Ferrucci R Dale Coyne Racing Honda
20 Ed Jones Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
21 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
22 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Chevrolet
23 Charlie Kimball Carlin Chevrolet
26 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport Honda
27 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Honda
28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda
30 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
59 Max Chilton Carlin Chevrolet
60 Jack Harvey Meyer Shank Racing with Arrow SPM Honda
81 Ben Hanley R DragonSpeed Chevrolet
88 Colton Herta R Harding Steinbrenner Racing Honda
98 Marco Andretti Andretti Herta with Marco & Curb-Agajanian Honda

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]