F1 teams’ tyre picks for Australian Grand Prix revealed

Daniel Herrero

Wednesday 6th March, 2019 - 9:10am


Pirelli has released the tyre choices for the Australian Grand Prix pic: Pirelli Twitter

Formula 1 teams’ selection of tyre compounds for the first grand prix of the season in Melbourne have been released.

Pirelli, the championship’s tyre supplier, has simplified its range of tyres for 2019 with the number of dry weather compounds down to five, from seven, and a new naming convention.

It has stayed away from the extreme ends of its range for the Australian Grand Prix, with the C2 to serve as the hard compound (white sidewall markings), the C3 as the medium (yellow), and the C4 as the soft (red).

Only Renault’s Daniel Ricciardo and Nico Hulkenberg will have 10 sets of soft tyres, the maximum number allowable of any compound.

The team-mates differ in the rest of their stock, however, with the Australian to take two sets of mediums and one set of hards as compared to one set of mediums and two sets of hards for the German.

Seven of the other nine teams have selected nine sets of soft compound tyres for each of their drivers, the exceptions being Racing Point and Williams at eight each, and one to two sets of hard compound tyres.

The Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix takes place from March 14-17, with F1 seeing its first two practice sessions on the second day of the event.

Num Driver Team Hard
3 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1 2 10
27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 2 1 10
4 Lando Norris McLaren 2 2 9
55 Carlos Sainz Jnr McLaren 2 2 9
5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1 3 9
16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 2 2 9
7 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo 1 3 9
99 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 2 2 9
8 Romain Grosjean Haas 1 3 9
20 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1 3 9
10 Pierre Gasly Red Bull Racing 1 3 9
33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 1 3 9
11 Sergio Perez Racing Point 2 3 8
18 Lance Stroll Racing Point 2 3 8
23 Alexander Albon Scuderia Toro Rosso 1 3 9
26 Daniil Kvyat Scuderia Toro Rosso 1 3 9
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1 3 9
77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1 3 9
63 George Russell Williams 1 4 8
88 Robert Kubica Williams 2 3 8 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!