Seton tops TA2 Muscle Car Series opener in Sydney

Aaron Seton

Wins for Aaron Seton and George Miedecke at Sydney Motorsport Park have seen the pair split by just four points following the opening round of the TA2 Muscle Car Series.

Seton resisted strong pressure late in a Safety Car interrupted opening race to win from Miedecke, whose father, Andrew, rounded out the podium.

Race 2 saw Seton and Miedecke again locked in battle, though the result remained unchanged as traffic played a key part in the lead fight.

Making a first appearance on the podium was Nathan Herne, the Formula Ford racer having made the transition into TA2 racing this season.

The third race again went the way of Seton, who narrowly headed MiedeckeĀ in the closest finish in the category’s history, with Ashley Jarvis third.

A spin at Turn 5 saw Seton drop to third midway through the final race of the weekend, clearing the way for Miedecke to take his first win in the category ahead of Jarvis.

Also on track at Sydney Motorsport Park was the MRF Tyres Australian Production Car Series, which hosted four races as part of the Sydney 240 to kick off its 2019 campaign.

Tim Leahey and Beric Lynton ended the weekend on top with two wins, and hold a nine point advantage over Race 4 winners Matthew Holt and Chris Lillis.

The opening race went the way of brothers Grant and Iain Sherrin, the pair winning by just over a second from Leahey and Lynton with the Holt/Lillis pairing third.

Race 2 saw the Sherrins relegated to second before a two-lap penalty in the third race of the weekend saw them end up ninth.

Leahey/Lynton won that encounter from Holt/Lillis, with the Ford Mustang GT of Lindsay Kearns and Coleby Cowham rounding out the top three.

The Sherrins bounced back to second in the final race, which went the way of Holt and Lillis as the Leahey/Lynton BMW M3 slipped to third.

The Australian Production Car Series now has a three month break before its second round, which will be held at Phillip Island in June.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]