Kostecki runs down Fullwood in Super2 Race 2

Brodie Kostecki

Brodie Kostecki has come from more than 2.5s back to win Race 2 of the Dunlop Super2 Series at the Superloop Adelaide 500.

The Kostecki Brothers Racing driver ran down Race 1 winner Bryce Fullwood, making a committed pass on Lap 15 and gapping the MW Motorsport pilot by 2.8604s in the four laps which remained.

A distant Zane Goddard made it two MWM Altimas on the podium again, while British debutant Abbie Eaton was one of two drivers not classified as a finisher after a torrid race in her Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore.

Fullwood outdragged Goddard when the lights went out as Brodie Kostecki overtook fellow second row starter Mason Barbera and Eaton stalled in 14th position.

Brodie Kostecki came from deep to pick off Goddard at Turn 9 before the first lap was out, but it was Fullwood clearing out to lead by around 2.5s after half a dozen laps.

The tide started to turn and Brodie Kostecki was on the tail of the Territorian before carrying huge corner speed through the Turn 8 Sweeper and sending his #57 VF Commodore down the inside under brakes at Turn 9.

Fullwood quickly lost ground to Brodie Kostecki but retains the series lead with his second place finish.

Behind Goddard, Mason Barbera (Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore) and Ash Walsh (MSR VF Commodore) had quiet races to fourth and fifth respectively.

Adam Marjoram (Image Racing VF Commodore), on the other hand, had a task on his hands to keep Jake Kostecki (KBR VF Commodore) and leading rookie Dylan O’Keeffe (GRM VF Commodore) behind him, but he succeeded in doing so and they finished sixth through eighth.

Thomas Randle had an eventful afternoon on his way to ninth in the Tickford Racing FGX Falcon.

Having been punted out of Race 1 at the fourth corner, Randle was on the up when he carried a big lock-up as he passed Will Brown for 11th at Turn 14 on Lap 4.

He got by Brenton Grove seven laps later before squeezing past Jack Smith up the main straight into Lap 14.

Grove inherited 10th in his Triple Eight VF Commodore when Smith had a lock-up of his own and ran long at Turn 9 on the same lap.

Brown (Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) was 11th, Smith (Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore) 15th, and Dean Fiore (EMS VF Commodore) 17th.

Eaton almost got away with an early bump of the wall at the Turn 8 Sweeper before sliding into the tyre wall at Turn 7 on Lap 5 in what team owner Matt Stone believed was a knock-on incident.

“I think she’s only ever done a start once before and that was yesterday, and she didn’t have all those guys beside her,” he observed of her stall.

“She definitely just had light contact with Turn 8; quite lucky to get out of there as lightly as she did.

“We were monitoring all the steering was straight, and the tyre pressure was good; I think just maybe a little bit of a buckle in the wheel so she was sort of managing it and it might have just caught her out (at Turn 7).”

Kurt Kostecki was handed a 35-point penalty overnight for reckless driving when he hit Randle in Race 1.

Round 1 wraps up with another 19-lapper tomorrow at 1405 local time/1435 AEDT.

UPDATE: Cars #10, #55 disqualified for parc ferme infringement.

Results: Race 2 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 57 Team Arcoweld Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 19 26:18.5479
2 16 Middy’s Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 19 26:21.4083
3 28 BGD Architects / MWM Zane Goddard Nissan Altima 19 26:30.4919
4 99 Garry Rogers Motorsport Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 19 26:36.0891
5 35 Matt Stone Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 19 26:39.7792
6 15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 19 26:43.0102
7 56 Team Arcoweld Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 19 26:43.6178
8 44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe Holden Commodore VF 19 26:44.5362
9 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 19 26:48.1934
10 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 19 26:50.8642
11 49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 19 26:51.4647
12 88 Eggleston Motorsport Justin Ruggier Holden Commodore VF 19 26:53.9465
13 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 19 26:55.0761
14 18 Auto One Albury Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X 19 26:57.1425
15 54 Eggleston Motorsport Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF 19 26:57.8447
16 47 Osborn’s Transport Joel Heinrich Ford Falcon FG/X 19 27:09.2271
DNF 27 Lowes Petoleum / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima 18 25:40.4316
DNF 33 Matt Stone Racing Abbie Eaton Holden Commodore VF 11 20:37.7934
DSQ 55 Arcoweld Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF    
DSQ 10 Grove Hire Racing Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF    

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]