Composed McBride claims second Adelaide win

Nick McBride

Nick McBride has claimed his second Porsche Payce Carrera Cup Australia race of the weekend in Adelaide with another composed performance.

McBride had the measure of second placed David Wall throughout the race, the pair both pulling clear of third-placed Dale Wood.

An even start off the front row saw McBride take the inside line into the Senna Chicane, Wall dropping into second.

It was status quo on the second row with Wood holding on over Warren Luff for third and fourth as Jordan Love slotted into fifth.

A poor start saw Cooper Murray plummet to 12th from fifth on the opening lap where he was tucked up behind Pro-Am class leaders Anthony Gilbertson and Max Twigg, who spun at Turn 4 on the second lap.

Nudging the barrier with the rear of the car, Twigg toured back to the pit lane and retirement.

The right hander at the top of Wakefield Street also caught out Indiran Padayachee on Lap 4, though in that instance he was able to rejoin the better part of half a lap down.

Out front, McBride and Wall circulated less than a second apart with Wood just over a second further back, with Murray the biggest mover in a field that remained largely stagnant for much of the 10 lap encounter.

The teenager recovered to finish inside the top 10, having been waved through by team-mate and Pro-Am class winner Gilbertson.

Race 3 for Carrera Cup Australia begins at 1330 local time (1400 AEDT) on Sunday.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Cls Laps Race time
1 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride P 10 13:55.7963
2 38 PAYCE David Wall P 10 13:56.4703
3 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood P 10 13:59.2647
4 7 MEGA/No Second Chance Warren Luff P 10 14:00.3766
5 777 Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts/SRG Jordan Love P 10 14:00.8306
6 15 Lory Construction/Volante Ross Josh Hunt P 10 14:01.8217
7 111 Seears Workwear Cameron Hill P 10 14:04.5594
8 5 Sonic/Hose Power Thomas Maxwell P 10 14:08.6272
9 36 Lodge Brothers Cooper Murray P 10 14:12.0394
10 77 Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael Almond P 10 14:14.5462
11 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson A 10 14:15.2710
12 27 Wash It Liam Talbot A 10 14:16.0959
13 13 The Bend Motorsport Park/HTFU Sam Shahin A 10 14:19.6468
14 34 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Duvashen Padayachee P 10 14:20.0121
15 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove A 10 14:23.2777
16 23 Lago Racing Roger Lago A 10 14:24.4450
17 6 Garage1 Tim Miles A 10 14:25.0468
18 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini A 10 14:30.6513
19 22 BMF Dean Cook A 10 14:30.7802
20 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee A 10 15:12.0633
DNF 80 VM Waste Max Twigg A 2 3:02.0654

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]