McBride holds off Wall to win Carrera Cup opener

Nick McBride

Nick McBride has translated a strong start into victory in the opening race of the Porsche Payce Carrera Cup Australia series around the Adelaide Parklands circuit.

Having opened a small gap in the early laps he then withstood strong pressure from David Wall following a mid-race Safety Car to take the first race of the category’s new season.

McBride headed the field into the first chicane on the opening lap after polesitter Wall bogged down at the start, slotting in second ahead of Michael Almond and Wood who got the better of Luff in the opening exchanges.

Almond’s challenge was short lived when a fluid leak became more serious, dropping the South Australian from third before taking to the pit lane just as the Safety Car was called for Tim Miles.

Sitting second in the Pro-Am class, Miles found the tyre barrier at Turn 11 with five laps in the book, burying the car in the gravel.

Following the restart McBride withstood pressure from Wall to the flag, taking a narrow victory in the season opener with Wood trailing home just over two seconds further back in third.

Luff followed home in fourth, unable to recover the position lost to Wood in the opening laps with Cooper Murray and Jordan Love filling sixth and seventh respectively.

The leading Pro-Am competitor home was Anthony Gilbertson, who headed the class from Max Twigg and Sam Shahin, Gilberston crossing the line ninth overall.

Carrera Cup’s second race of the weekend, a 10 lap encounter, is scheduled for 1500 local time (1530 AEDT) on Saturday.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Cls Laps Race time
1 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride P 15 24:45.9974
2 38 PAYCE David Wall P 15 24:46.4371
3 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood P 15 24:48.1435
4 7 MEGA/No Second Chance Warren Luff P 15 24:48.9684
5 36 Lodge Brothers Cooper Murray P 15 24:50.2959
6 777 Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts/SRG Jordan Love P 15 24:50.7591
7 111 Seears Workwear Cameron Hill P 15 24:51.4512
8 15 Lory Construction/Volante Ross Josh Hunt P 15 24:52.1864
9 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson A 15 24:54.9163
10 5 Sonic/Hose Power Thomas Maxwell P 15 24:55.9076
11 80 VM Waste Max Twigg A 15 24:57.0742
12 13 The Bend Motorsport Park/HTFU Sam Shahin A 15 24:58.3922
13 27 Wash It Liam Talbot A 15 24:59.0564
14 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove A 15 25:03.1229
15 34 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Duvashen Padayachee P 15 25:03.9034
16 23 Lago Racing Roger Lago A 15 25:07.6236
17 22 BMF Dean Cook A 15 25:07.9854
18 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini A 15 25:09.1538
19 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee A 15 25:24.3604
20 6 Garage1 Tim Miles A 13 25:25.0799
DNF 77 Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael Almond P 5 7:03.4159

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]