Coulthard heads DJRTP one-two in Practice 3 in Adelaide

Fabian Coulthard

Fabian Coulthard has edged Scott McLaughlin in a top three separated by less than a tenth in Supercars Championship Practice 3 at the Superloop Adelaide 500.

Jamie Whincup was next-best after the Shell V-Power Ford Mustangs, with Nick Percat and Chaz Mostert within a quarter of a second of the Kiwi pace-setters.

Shane van Gisbergen was 12th, David Reynolds 13th, and Mark Winterbottom 24th out of 24.

The two DJR Team Penske entries, two of Brad Jones Racing’s drivers, and Whincup, spent time with the fastest lap during the half-hour session.

Tim Slade was on top in the #14 Freightliner ZB Commodore after the first timed laps, followed by Whincup (Red Bull HRT ZB Commodore) for a brief moment before Coulthard laid down a 1:21.0296s.

McLaughlin was the first man into the 1:20s bracket in his second run, and moved the mark further in his third run on used tyres.

Coulthard, on the other hand, was already onto ‘greens’ in Car #12 as he clocked a 1:20.4761s in the 23rd minute, before Nick Percat jumped from the base of the top 10 to the lead shortly after with a 1:20.3923s in the National Pharmacies ZB Commodore.

Each of the Triple Eight and DJRTP cars took greens for their last runs, with McLaughlin setting the fastest lap of the weekend to date at 1:20.1792s.

Coulthard shaved 0.0652s from that just before the chequered flag come out to move the mark to 1:20.1140s.

“It’s all about knowing what you’ve got,” he said of taking two new sets of tyres.

“We just need to get a bit of confidence back, so that’s definitely the way to do it.

“The car’s been good all weekend I’ve been there or thereabouts, so we just need to do it when it counts.

“(The car has) been good at Phillip Island (pre-season test), it’s been good here.

“Everything’s progressing as we would like but it’s a long way to go. Don’t get too ahead of ourselves.

“We’ve got a fantastic team behind me and Scotty. Everyone’s done a fantastic job here at Shell V-Power Racing and Ford Performance in America.

“It’s not just us driving it, it’s a credit to everyone.”

Percat found a tiny improvement which ended up being the difference between fourth and fifth, the latter taken up by Mostert in the Supercheap Auto Mustang.

Slade, Will Davison (Milwaukee Mustang), and Cameron Waters (Monster Energy Mustang), who took up sixth through eighth, found time with the chequered flag out.

Anton De Pasquale (Penrite ZB Commodore) and Scott Pye (Mobil 1 Mega ZB Commodore) rounded out the top 10.

The four Kelly Racing entries came in a bunch from 17th to 20th on the timing screen, with Garry Jacobson (Rabble.Club Racing) fastest of the Braeside squad despite bumping the wall at Turn 8 earlier in the session.

The first Armor All Qualifying session of the year starts this evening at 1825 local time/1855 AEDT.

Results: Practice 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 1:20.1140  
2 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 1:20.1792 0:00.0652
3 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.1923 0:00.0783
4 8 Team National Pharmacies Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.3515 0:00.2375
5 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 1:20.3563 0:00.2423
6 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.5455 0:00.4315
7 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:20.7313 0:00.6173
8 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:20.7599 0:00.6459
9 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.9221 0:00.8081
10 2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.9284 0:00.8144
11 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.9502 0:00.8362
12 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.9535 0:00.8395
13 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.9901 0:00.8761
14 22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.0200 0:00.9060
15 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:21.0320 0:00.9180
16 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.0473 0:00.9333
17 3 Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 1:21.1074 0:00.9934
18 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:21.2477 0:01.1337
19 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:21.2624 0:01.1484
20 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:21.4019 0:01.2879
21 33 Boost Mobile Racing Richie Stanaway Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.4391 0:01.3251
22 35 Unit Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.6431 0:01.5291
23 19 Team TEKNO Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.6968 0:01.5828
24 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.7389 0:01.6249

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]