Viñales, Quartararo end final pre-season test on top

Maverick Viñales

Maverick Viñales and rookie Fabio Quartararo have given Yamaha a one-two at the conclusion of the final MotoGP pre-season test in Qatar.

Marc Marquez ended the day third-fastest from big improvers Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo, although Alex Rins remained in third on combined times.

Viñales completed 50 laps aboard his factory Monster Energy Yamaha, of which the 25th which he logged late in the fourth of six hours was the fastest of the session at 1:54.208s.

Quartararo was 0.233s slower in second place on a satellite Petronas SRT entry, with the other two Yamahas making it into the top six.

Rossi jumped from 19th on Day 2 to fourth on Day 3, while Franco Morbidelli was 0.452s away from Viñales on the other SRT bike.

The Iwata factory’s quartet was broken up only by the Repsol Hondas as Marquez put in a personal best 1:54.613s and Jorge Lorenzo hauled himself from near the bottom for two days to go fifth-fastest.

Both went down during the session but were reportedly not injured.

Pol Espargaro was seventh-fastest for Red Bull KTM Factory Racing, from Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda), Danilo Petrucci (Mission Winnow Ducati), and Jack Miller (Pramac Ducati).

Day 2 pace-setter Rins was 11th-quickest, a spot ahead of Suzuki Ecstar team-mate Joan Mir.

Miller’s rookie team-mate Francesco Bagnaia was the last rider within a second of Viñales in 13th on a GP18, while factory Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso was 15th as he focused on longer runs.

Gresini Aprilia’s best was Andrea Iannone in 16th.

The countdown is now on to Round 1 of the season back at the Losail International Circuit in Qatar on March 8-10 (local time).

Pre-season testing: Losail: Day 3

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/Prev Laps
1 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:54.208   25/50
2 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:54.441 0.233/0.233 28/48
3 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:54.613 0.405/0.172 30/53
4 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:54.651 0.443/0.038 35/38
5 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:54.653 0.445/0.002 26/33
6 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:54.660 0.452/0.007 42/61
7 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:54.770 0.562/0.110 27/37
8 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:54.789 0.581/0.019 48/50
9 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati 1:54.818 0.610/0.029 19/43
10 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:54.851 0.643/0.033 47/47
11 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:54.852 0.644/0.001 28/41
12 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:54.997 0.789/0.145 37/38
13 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:55.074 0.866/0.077 30/47
14 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:55.229 1.021/0.155 52/66
15 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati 1:55.233 1.025/0.004 32/50
16 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:55.343 1.135/0.110 21/39
17 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:55.690 1.482/0.347 25/39
18 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 1:55.773 1.565/0.083 28/28
19 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:55.814 1.606/0.041 28/54
20 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Aprilia Factory Racing Aprilia 1:56.072 1.864/0.258 37/38
21 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:56.121 1.913/0.049 26/50
22 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:56.162 1.954/0.041 32/42
23 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 1:56.371 2.163/0.209 25/42

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]