Rins edges Viñales on Day 2 of Losail test

Alex Rins pic: MotoGP Twitter

Alex Rins has pipped Day 1 fast man Maverick Viñales to set the pace after two days of the final MotoGP pre-season test in Qatar.

The top two from the first day were reversed while rookie Fabio Quartararo slotted into third on his Petronas Yamaha.

Five riders beat Viñales’ benchmark 1:55.051s from the day prior with Mission Winnow Ducati’s Danilo Petrucci the first to do so.

Viñales himself was next to go to the top of the timing screen on his Monster Energy Yamaha before Rins set a 1:54.593s on the #42 Suzuki Ecstar entry that stood up for the two hours which remained.

Quartararo ended up 0.315s back from Rins and 0.258s behind the lead factory Yamaha, followed by Petrucci and then Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez.

The defending champion also notched up his greatest haul of laps since shoulder surgery with 57 in total for #93.

Aleix Espargaro put his Gresini Aprilia sixth on the timesheets, 0.002s quicker than LCR Honda’s Takaaki Nakagami.

Factory Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso was near the top for much of the day but shuffled back to eighth by the conclusion, from LCR’s Cal Crutchlow and Red Bull KTM’s Pol Espargaro.

Crutchlow reportedly rode both a 2018- and 2019-specification RC213V during the day.

Jack Miller was fastest of the Independent Team riders in 12th on the 2019-spec Alma Pramac Ducati.

Two of the big guns were near the tail of the 23-rider field with Jorge Lorenzo (Repsol Honda) improving by 1.3s but only three positions to 18th in his second day back riding.

Valentino Rossi was 1.145s slower than team-mate Viñales in 19th position.

The final six hours of pre-season testing starts at midnight (AEDT).

Pre-season testing: Losail: Day 2

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/Prev Laps
1 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:54.593 44/47
2 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:54.650 0.057/0.057 33/52
3 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:54.908 0.315/0.258 46/54
4 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati 1:54.953 0.360/0.045 29/48
5 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:55.004 0.411/0.051 35/57
6 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:55.173 0.580/0.169 41/55
7 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:55.175 0.582/0.002 45/47
8 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Mission Winnow Ducati Ducati 1:55.205 0.612/0.030 28/53
9 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:55.247 0.654/0.042 29/35
10 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:55.255 0.662/0.008 30/44
11 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:55.280 0.687/0.025 45/48
12 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:55.380 0.787/0.100 41/42
13 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:55.556 0.963/0.176 45/52
14 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:55.661 1.068/0.105 46/51
15 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:55.680 1.087/0.019 29/49
16 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:55.698 1.105/0.018 35/38
17 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:55.716 1.123/0.018 42/60
18 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:55.742 1.149/0.026 26/44
19 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:55.795 1.202/0.053 45/51
20 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:55.951 1.358/0.156 45/51
21 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 1:56.274 1.681/0.323 32/51
22 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Aprilia Factory Racing Aprilia 1:56.866 2.273/0.592 29/63
23 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 1:56.983 2.390/0.117 31/42

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]