De Pasquale receives Peter Brock Medal at CAMS Awards

Anton de Pasquale was awarded the Peter Brock Medal

Anton De Pasquale has been named the recipient of the Peter Brock Medal at the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport gala in Melbourne.

The Erebus Motorsport rookie proved a standout during his Supercars maiden campaign, qualifying third for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Inaugurated in 2011, the Peter Brock Medal recognises outstanding achievement and the positive endorsement of motorsport, with previous winners including Craig Lowndes, Mark Webber, Molly Taylor, and Neal Bates.

The gala recognised individuals from across the spectrum of Australian motorsport including drivers, officials, administrators, and the media, with a number of awards handed out alongside championship trophies to the likes of Scott McLaughlin.

Will Power received the Sir Jack Brabham Award following his victory at the Indianapolis 500 last May, though the Toowoomba native was unable to attend the ceremony in person.

Formula 4 racer Lochie Hughes was named Young Driver of the Year after dominating the rookie competition in 2018.

Off track, Mark Skaife received a CAMS life membership for his services to the sport, while founder and owner Brett Murray’s contribution was recognised with a Service Award. photographer Dirk Klynsmith was named Photographer of the Year while host of the Armor All Summer Grill, Greg Rust, was named Journalist of the Year.

The Phil Irving Award was handed to Robert Britton for his outstanding devotion and positive contributions to motor sport as an Australian engineer earned him the top gong.

CAMS Award Winners

Member of Honour – Craig Denton
Life Membership – Dr Jenny Devine, David Miles AM, Mark Skaife OAM, Geoff Sykes, David Vaughan
Australian Motor Sport Official of the Year – Vincent Ciccarello
Peter Brock Medal – Anton De Pasquale
CAMS Young Driver of the Year – Lochie Hughes
Sir Jack Brabham Award – Will Power
Phil Irving Award – Robert Britton
Ladies Championship Trophy – Taylah Agius
Bathurst 12 Hour Winning Team – Dries Vanthoor, Stuart Leonard, Robin Frijns

2018 CAMS National Winners

Virgin Australia Supercars Champion – Scott McLaughlin
Australian Khanacross Champion – Bradley Clements
Australian Motorkhana Champion – Corinne East-Johnston
Australian Supersprint Champion – Vikki Paxton
Australian Hill Climb Champion – Malcolm Oastler
Australian Side by Side Champion – Simon Evans
Australian GT Champion – Geoff Emery
Australian Endurance Championship – Max Twigg & Tony D’Alberto
Australian Formula 4 Champion – Jayden Ojeda
Australian Rally Champions – Eli Evans (Driver), Ben Searcy (Co-Driver)
2WD Rally Winners – Adam Kaplan (Driver), Aleshia Penney (Co-Driver)

2018 CAMS National Series Winners
Dunlop Super2 Series Winner – Chris Pither
Porsche Carrera Cup Australia Series Winner – Jaxon Evans
ARC2 Champions – Andrew Penny (Driver), Rhys Llewellyn (Co-Driver)

CAMS BFGoodrich Australian Off-Road Championship
Outright Winners – Shannon Rentsch (Driver), Ian Rentsch (Co-Driver)
Pro Buggy Class Winners – Shannon Rentsch (Driver), Ian Rentsch (Co-Driver)
Prolite Buggy Class Winners – Alan Dixon (Driver), Johnny O’Connor (Co-Driver)
Production 4WD Class Winners – Geoff Pickering (Driver), Dylan Watson (Co-Driver)
SXS Turbo Class Winners – Toby Whateley (Driver), Simon Hermann, and Tony Whateley (Co-driver)
Extreme 2WD Class Winners – Brett Taylor (Driver), Peter Treis (Co Driver), Chris Hinspeter (Co-Driver)
SXS Sport Class Winners – Rick Chambers (Driver), Patrick Geraghty (Co-Driver)
Extreme 4WD Class Winners – Paul Malt (Driver), Michelle Malt (Co-Driver)
Super 1650 Buggy Class Winner – Hans Wernet Zettl

Karting Australia Awards
KA1 Winner – Lachlan Dalton
KA2 Winner – Kai Allen
KZ2 Winner– Aaron Cameron

CAMS Motor Sport Media Awards
Service Award – Brett Murray, David Hassall, Chris Lambden
Motor Sport Journalist of the Year – Greg Rust
Motor Sport Story of the Year (Print/Online) – Andrew van Leeuwen
Motor Sport Photograph of the Year – Brett Hemmings
Motor Sport Photographer of the Year – Dirk Klynsmith

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]