McLaren unveils 2019 MCL34

The 2019 McLaren MCL34

McLaren has become the latest team to release its 2019 Formula 1 car with the launch of the MCL34.

The team has retained the orange of recent years, a traditional colour stemming back to the squad’s Can-Am program of the late 1960s, with blue flecks on the engine cover.

Where rivals Mercedes and Red Bull opted to unveil their cars at Silverstone, McLaren chose to unveil from within its Woking factory.

“The MCL34 is the result of an immense amount of hard work and dedication throughout our team,” said team boss Zak Brown.

“We’re all committed, motivated and united in our ambition to return McLaren to competitiveness, and the MCL34 is only the start of this process.

“We have a fresh driver pairing, who together represent the new generation of Formula 1 talent, and are an integral part of the team and our collective effort to advance McLaren forward.

“The McLaren family is not only our people and our drivers, but also our superb partners and wonderful fans.

“We have a strong community of partners which continues to grow, and an incredible fan base, who have all remained loyal and supportive throughout our highs and lows, and I’d like to thank them as we head into the 2019 season.”

The British squad has an all-new driver line-up for 2019, with Carlos Sainz and Lando Norris replacing Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne.

It’s the first time the team has had two brand new drivers since 2007 when Lewis Hamilton made his debut for the team alongside Alonso, who was then starting his first stint with the team.

Having moved to McLaren from Reanult, Sainz is optimistic the team is ready to improve on its sixth place in 2018.

“I know everyone at the factory has been working very hard over the winter to prepare ourselves for this year, and I think the team has done a fantastic job with the livery of the MCL34,” Sainz said.

“We know the big task ahead of us and we first need to evaluate where we are after the tests. From there onwards, I can’t wait to start racing and keep pushing forward together.”

McLaren last won a championship with Lewis Hamilton in 2008, while its last constructors’ crown came in 1998 with Mika Hakkinen and David Coulthard.

Jenson Button claimed the squad’s last victory at the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix.

Pre-season testing begins on Monday in Barcelona, with Ferrari and Alfa Romeo still to reveal their cars.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]