Super3 Series winner announces step to Super2

Tyler Everingham with his new Nissan Altima ride out of MW Motorsport pic: Tyler Everingham Facebook

Last year’s Super3 Series winner Tyler Everingham has confirmed that he will contest this year’s Dunlop Super2 Series with MW Motorsport.

Everingham linked up with MWM last year to clinch the third tier title in an FG Falcon in his first season in a Supercar, and will now take on Super2 in one of the team’s three Nissan Altimas.

“Excited to announce that I will be stepping up into the Super2 Series with MW Motorsport in the Nissan Altima in 2019,” the Dubbo teen wrote on his Facebook page.

“I’m looking forward to continuing the relationship with Matthew and the team at MW Motorsport after winning the 2018 Kumho Super3 Series with them.

“We have a test day today and tomorrow at Winton Motor Raceway in preparation for the first round at the Superloop Adelaide 500.”

Everingham will again be backed by Lowes Petroleum Service and Secure Data Centre, as well as by Rexel, and remain an ambassador for the R U OK Day initiative.

MWM’s Super2 effort will again be a three-car operation in 2019, but with an all-changed driver line-up relative to the previous season.

Bryce Fullwood has returned to the Victorian squad after a year away, while Zane Goddard has moved across from Brad Jones Racing for his second season in the series.

Garry Jacobson has risen from MWM’s Super2 ranks to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship with Kelly Racing while 2018 team-mate Alex Rullo is understood to be investigating an alternative program.

Everingham continues a trend of using the Kumho Tyre Super3 Series as a breeding ground for future talent, with MWM unearthing Rullo in the third tier and BJR’s Jack Smith winning it in 2017 as he racked up extra miles alongside his rookie Super2 season.

The 2019 Super2 Series starts at the Superloop Adelaide 500 on February 28-March 3.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]