Swiss Aston squad names Bathurst 12 Hour drivers

R-Motorsport will field two Aston Martins in the 2019 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour

R-Motorsport has named a seven-driver line-up for its two Aston Martin entries for this year’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, including a gentleman Australian racer.

Its Pro class Vantage V12 GT3 will be filled by Jake Dennis, Marvin Kirchhöfer, and Matthieu Vaxiviere, who all raced for R-Motorsport in last year’s Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup.

The sister Pro-Am car is to be driven by team owners Andreas Baenziger and Florian Kamelger, along with Australian Peter Leemhuis, and Matt Parry.

“In Jake Dennis, Marvin Kirchhöfer and Matthieu Vaxiviere, we have put together a highly competitive driver combination of proven merit,” said Dr Kamelger, team principal.

“In the Pro-Am car, Matt Parry’s experience and record of success will be an asset to our squad.

“We are delighted to be returning ‘Down Under’ for the GT3 season opener with this driver line-up. The last time we competed at Bathurst was in the GT4 category in 2017.

“The 12 Hour race in Australia is one of the most important GT3 endurance races in the world, and achieving a top result in the classic at Mount Panorama is sure to be a big challenge.”

R-Motorsport took three pole positions in last year’s Blancpain Endurance Cup and won at Silverstone.

It has entered this year’s DTM in a partnership with HWA AG to run Aston Martins in the German-based touring car series, while its presence at Mount Panorama represents the return of the marque after a one-year absence.

This year’s Bathurst 12 Hour takes place from January 31-February 3.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]