Mazdas go one-two in Roar qualifying at Daytona

The #77 Mazda Team Joest Mazda DPi

Both Mazda Team Joest entries have unofficially broken the Daytona outright lap record in a one-two qualifying effort at the Roar Before The 24.

Oliver Jarvis took the #77 Mazda DPi to a time of 1:33.398s while Harry Tincknell ended up with a 1:33.423s in the sister #55 entry, giving the team the first two choices of pit bays and garages for the Rolex 24 later this month.

Ricky Taylor was third-fastest in the #7 Acura Team Penske car and the #10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi which Fernando Alonso has signed on to race ended up sixth in the hands of Jordan Taylor.

Australian James Allen qualified second-fastest of the four-car LMP2 class at 1:36.304s in the #81 DragonSpeed Oreca.

Jan Magnussen used a tow from Corvette Racing team-mate Oliver Jarvis to set the pace in GT Le Mans qualifying.

His 1:42.651s was 0.128s faster than Richard Westbrook in the #67 Ford GT which the Briton is piloting with Ryan Briscoe and Scott Dixon.

The sister #66 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing entry was third-fastest, from Earl Bamber in the #912 Porsche GT Team Porsche 911 RSR.

John Edwards qualified the #24 BMW Team RLL BMW M8 GTE seventh in the nine-car class.

Chaz Mostert’s work for the day in Car #24 was five laps in Practice 7, setting a personal best of 1:45.173s.

GT Daytona had already finished its Roar Before The 24 program on the Saturday.

The Daytona 24 Hours will be held from January 24-27.

The #24 BMW Team RLL BMW M8 GTE

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]