Scott Pruett named Daytona 24 Hours grand marshal

Daniel Herrero

Saturday 5th January, 2019 - 1:18pm


Scott Pruett pic: IMSA Twitter

Five-time 24 Hours of Daytona outright winner Scott Pruett has been named grand marshal for the 2019 running of the race this month.

The honour comes 12 months after he announced that the 2018 Rolex 24 at Daytona would be his last race in a career lasting almost 50 years.

The race will open IMSA’s 50th anniversary season on the weekend of January 24-27 at Daytona International Speedway.

“It’s impossible for me to sum up, in just a few words, how honoured I am to be chosen as Grand Marshal for the 57th anniversary of the Rolex 24 At Daytona,” said Pruett.

“This track is truly special to me for so many reasons. To be the Grand Marshal in itself is wonderful and to be it while ushering in the 50th Anniversary of IMSA makes it all the more special.

“It’s going to be an emotional weekend and start of the race for me, personally, as I’m sure I will miss suiting up and taking the wheel.”

Pruett’s five overall Daytona victories tie him with Hurley Haywood as the most prolific race winners, while his 10 class wins are also a record.

The Roar Before The 24 test is being held this weekend. comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!