Lines clinches Speedweek title with third in Warrnambool

Steven Lines, James McFadden, and Cory Eliason pic: World Series Sprintcars Facebook

Steven Lines has won a second Speedweek title with a third placing in QSS World Series Sprintcars Round 5 while James McFadden took honours for the night in Warrnambool.

McFadden drove from the middle of the field to take out the A-Main at Premier Speedway, ahead of Cory Eliason, Lines, Kerry Madsen, and Darren Mollenoyux.

Eliason started strongly in the 35-lap feature and held the lead as the front-runners were largely stable in their positions until a stoppage on Lap 14 when David Murcott failed to proceed.

Once the race restarted, Madsen took second position off Lines and McFadden climbed from ninth to fifth.

McFadden continued to gain ground on the high line and was fourth, behind Lines, when they both passed Madsen on Lap 24.

Lines lost his recently regained second position to McFadden on Lap 26, and the defending WSS champion set his sights on Eliason.

The change for the lead came with three laps remaining and McFadden went on to win by 2.4s, becoming the fifth different winner in as many rounds this season.

“Qualifying is what we really need to work on,” noted McFadden.

“We’ve finished well with four top fives this week, but we only made the shootout once, so if we can get better at the start of the night, I won’t have to work so hard at the end.”

James McFadden pic: Corey Gibson

Lines, who won the opening round, is now a two-time Speedweek winner and earns the $10,000 prize.

“I’m just relieved it’s all over to be honest,” he said.

“When Kerry got past me, I was doing all the sums in my head working out where I had to be to win Speedweek.

“But after I got past him, I was actually not too bothered when James passed me because I knew we’d done enough and I just wanted to hold my ground.”

Lines series lead is now 56 points to Madsen while McFadden has closed to 11 further back.

WSS now moves to Queensland for its Sunshine Swing, starting with the Australian Sprintcar Open at Archerfield on January 4-5.

Standings: After Round 5

Pos Num Driver Pts
1 Q83 Steven Lines 1329
2 W2 Kerry Madsen 1273
3 W17 James McFadden 1262
4 W26 Cory Eliason 1087
5 V37 Grant Anderson 1026
6 S19 Brad Keller 988
7 V40 Rusty Hickman 982
8 V88 Dave Murcott 968
9 V35 Jamie Veal 966
10 W97 Mitchell Wormall 840
11 S81 Luke Dillon 809
12 V42 Jye O’Keeffe 799
13 V52 Darren Mollenoyux 772
14 S13 Brock Hallett 766
14 S20 Glen Sutherland 766
16 V25 Jack Lee 760
17 S72 Chad Ely 745
18 W80 James Inglis 743
19 Q77 Jayden Peacock 726
20 V90 Corey McCullagh 661
21 S15 Aidan Hall 636
22 V98 Peter Doukas 629
23 Q23 Lockie McHugh 618
24 S27 Daniel Pestka 602
25 S14 Brendan Quinn 599
26 W14 Jason Pryde 574
27 NT9 Danny Porter 542
28 S78 Keke Falland 539
29 V60 Jordyn Charge 515
30 S63 Ryan Jones 499
31 V92 Matthew Reed 496
32 T22 Jock Goodyer 490
33 Q54 Randy Morgan 489
34 T7 Tim Hutchins 488
35 V17 Dennis Jones 477
36 V72 Jacob Smith 466
37 S10 Steven Caruso 453
38 S97 Matt Egel 448
39 S41 Adrian Cottrell 446
40 V55 Brooke Tatnell 444
41 V45 Michael Van Bremen 414
42 V70 John Vogels 392
43 V2 Domain Ramsay 372
44 S4 Lisa Walker 285
45 S5 Tregan Gates 266
46 S3 Ben Morris 179
47 V67 Luke Walker 177
47 V68 Brett Milburn 177
49 T62 Tate Frost 128
50 V50 Darren Clarke 127
51 V81 Robbie Paton 126
52 S57 Rory Button 116
53 V93 Travis Millar 110
54 N65 Brendan Rallings 106
55 V89 Jamie Heyen 102
56 S24 Ricky Maiolo 98
57 V3 Jacob Dickson 88
58 S54 Nick Rachwal 84
59 VA88 Grant Stansfield 77
60 D22 Leigh Mungavin 72

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]