Veal takes WSS honours in Avalon after Eliason error

Monday 31st December, 2018 - 8:49am


Jamie Veal pic: SWI Racing Facebook

Jamie Veal has become the fourth different feature winner in as many rounds of this QSS World Series Sprintcars season following a Cory Eliason error in Avalon.

When Eliason gave up the lead with a dozen laps remaining, Veal was there to pick up the pieces ahead of Darren Mollenoyux and James McFadden.

Mollenoyux and Eliason had qualified on the front row for the A-Main and waged a huge battle for the lead which the latter eventually got the better of as he began to pull away beyond the 10-lap mark.

Mollenoyux, on the other hand, then came under pressure from Veal and McFadden.

Another duel involving Mollenoyux ensued, this time with McFadden, while Eliason tightened his grip on the race and the $10,000 prizemoney.

However, the Californian damaged the front end of #W26 when he tagged the infield tyre bundle at Turn 3 with 12 laps to run, and his charge was over.

Veal took up the lead and there he remained, ahead of Mollenoyux, McFadden, Kerry Madsen, and Brooke Tatnell.

“I’ve come close a few times here at Avalon, a couple of years ago I got beaten in the rubber, but it’s been a good place for me over the years,” said Veal.

“To get a World Series win here especially when I’m leading the track championship makes it a good night.”

Round 1 winner Steven Lines continues to hold the Speedweek points lead despite dropping from third to sixth over the course of the A-Main.

Speedweek concludes at Premier Speedway in Warrnambool tomorrow night (January 1).

Standings: After Round 4

Pos Num Driver Pts
1 Q83 Steven Lines 1055
2 W2 Kerry Madsen 995
3 W17 James McFadden 940
4 V37 Grant Anderson 812
5 V88 Dave Murcott 810
6 W26 Cory Eliason 789
7 S19 Brad Keller 752
8 V40 Rusty Hickman 739
9 W97 Mitchell Wormall 738
10 V35 Jamie Veal 736
11 S13 Brock Hallett 645
12 S20 Glen Sutherland 632
13 S63 Ryan Jones 609
14 V25 Jack Lee 608
15 Q77 Jayden Peacock 604
16 S27 Daniel Pestka 602
17 V42 Jye O’Keeffe 599
18 S81 Luke Dillon 598
19 W80 James Inglis 554
20 S72 Chad Ely 542
21 V90 Corey McCullagh 532
22 V52 Darren Mollenoyux 522
23 W14 Jason Pryde 492
24 Q23 Lockie McHugh 478
25 S15 Aidan Hall 470
26 S14 Brendan Quinn 463
27 V98 Peter Doukas 461
28 S10 Steven Caruso 453
29 S97 Matt Egel 448
30 NT9 Danny Porter 434
31 S78 Keke Falland 414
32 V17 Dennis Jones 413
33 Q54 Randy Morgan 406
34 V60 Jordyn Charge 398
35 V72 Jacob Smith 380
36 S41 Adrian Cottrell 364
37 T7 Tim Hutchins 360
38 V92 Matthew Reed 356
39 V45 Michael Van Bremen 323
40 T22 Jock Goodyer 300
41 S4 Lisa Walker 285
42 S5 Tregan Gates 266
43 V55 Brooke Tatnell 256
44 V70 John Vogels 236
45 V2 Domain Ramsay 193
46 S3 Ben Morris 179
47 V68 Brett Milburn 177
48 V81 Robbie Paton 126
49 S57 Rory Button 116
50 V93 Travis Millar 110
51 N65 Brendan Rallings 106
52 V89 Jamie Heyen 102
53 S24 Ricky Maiolo 98
54 V3 Jacob Dickson 88
55 S54 Nick Rachwal 84
56 D22 Leigh Mungavin 72
57 V50 Darren Clarke 53 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!