Anderson wins in Warrnambool as Madsen misses A-Main

Grant Anderson

Grant Anderson has become a QSS World Series Sprintcars feature race winner in Warrnambool, a contest which previous championship leader Kerry Madsen failed to qualify for.

Anderson led all 35 laps of the A-Main in which Steven Lines finished fourth to return to the top of the points table.

David Murcott qualified on pole for the A-Main but chose to start from the outside, leaving Anderson on the inside of Premier Speedway.

The Albury driver took the lead before the first lap was out and was not headed again in a race which saw no stoppages.

The victory makes for a fourth pair of father-and-son WSS race winners, with David and Grant Anderson joining George and Brooke Tatnell, Ray and Brett Lacey, and Max and Mitchell Dumesny.

“This is such a confidence boost for our whole family and team,” said Grant Anderson, who won by 1.6s.

“It’s not a big budget and I’ve been criticised in the past for not being any good on heavy tracks, but to be able to win in this quality of field on a track like that is a massive achievement and we’re very proud.”

Madsen, the Round 2 winner, couldn’t get out of the B-Main after retiring from a heat race due to a clash with Darren Mollenoyux.

Second position in the feature went to Murcott and third to Cory McCullagh, who set a stonking 9.986s qualifying lap earlier in the evening.

Lines’ fourth position came after his Horrell Motorsports crew effected an engine change between the Gold Shootout and A-Main.

James McFadden remains third in the standings, behind Lines and Madsen, after having to go through the B-Main and finishing the A-Main 14th from 17th on the grid.

Round 4 takes place tonight at Avalon Raceway, near Geelong.

Standings: After Round 3

Pos Num Driver Pts
1 Q83 Steven Lines 807
2 W2 Kerry Madsen 731
3 W17 James McFadden 662
4 W26 Cory Eliason 617
5 V40 Rusty Hickman 607
6 V37 Grant Anderson 606
7 S27 Daniel Pestka 602
8 V88 Dave Murcott 591
9 W97 Mitchell Wormall 550
10 V90 Corey McCullagh 532
11 S19 Brad Keller 531
12 S13 Brock Hallett 471
13 S15 Aidan Hall 470
14 V25 Jack Lee 469
15 S20 Glen Sutherland 460
16 S10 Steven Caruso 453
17 S97 Matt Egel 448
18 Q77 Jayden Peacock 446
19 V98 Peter Doukas 421
20 W80 James Inglis 416
21 V35 Jamie Veal 408
22 V42 Jye O’Keeffe 399
23 S81 Luke Dillon 396
24 W14 Jason Pryde 378
25 S72 Chad Ely 370
26 S63 Ryan Jones 369
27 Q23 Lockie McHugh 351
28 S78 Keke Falland 334
29 Q54 Randy Morgan 306
30 S14 Brendan Quinn 301
31 NT9 Danny Porter 298
32 V72 Jacob Smith 289
33 S4 Lisa Walker 285
34 S41 Adrian Cottrell 274
34 V60 Jordyn Charge 274
36 S5 Tregan Gates 266
37 V17 Dennis Jones 265
38 T22 Jock Goodyer 260
39 V70 John Vogels 236
40 V92 Matthew Reed 229
41 V52 Darren Mollenoyux 223
42 T7 Tim Hutchins 208
43 S3 Ben Morris 179
44 V45 Michael Van Bremen 175
45 V81 Robbie Paton 126
46 S57 Rory Button 116
47 N65 Brendan Rallings 106
48 S24 Ricky Maiolo 98
49 S54 Nick Rachwal 84
50 D22 Leigh Mungavin 72
51 V50 Darren Clarke 53

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]