Madsen takes WSS lead after clash with Eliason

Kerry Madsen flanked by Grant Anderson and David Murcott

Kerry Madsen has moved to top spot in the QSS World Series Sprintcars standings after winning Round 2 at Mount Gambier.

Madsen’s victory was not without drama, however, as he and Cory Eliason made contact which saw the latter crash out while they battled for the lead midway through the final.

David Murcott finished second and Grant Anderson third at Borderline Speedway.

Madsen qualified on pole while Corey McCullagh was sluggish in getting away from the other side of the front row, with Murcott and Anderson taking advantage.

The first stoppage came when Aidan Hall found the wall on Lap 2 and the second did not take long either, after Rusty Hickman and Jamie Veal clashed at Turn 1 to bring an end to both of their nights.

James McFadden, meanwhile, had advanced from 11th to sixth to third in the first two segments of the race.

Eliason had started in only 19th but was making even more rapid progress and sat second shortly after Jye O’Keeffe came to grief on Lap 14.

Madsen and Eliason duelled for a number of laps, the former trying out the low line before going high again.

However, he had not quite cleared Car #26 as they exited Turn 4 and squeezed Eliason into the wall.

Madsen took control of the race when it restarted with 12 laps remaining and went on to take victory from Murcott, Anderson, and McFadden.

Round 1 winner Steven Lines salvaged fifth position having started the A-Main 14th and dropped to 18th in the opening laps.

“I feel bad for Cory because no one wants to win races by hitting another car, but I just didn’t see him or hear him and he obviously had more speed than I thought,” recounted Madsen.

“But we’re really starting to make some progress with this combination now and I’m looking forward to Warrnambool.”

Round 3 is at Sungold Stadium in Warrnambool, tonight.

Standings: After Round 2

Pos Num Driver Pts
1 W2 Kerry Madsen 588
2 Q83 Steven Lines 543
3 W17 James McFadden 478
4 S97 Matt Egel 448
5 S27 Daniel Pestka 421
6 W26 Cory Eliason 419
7 S63 Ryan Jones 369
8 V40 Rusty Hickman 356
9 S81 Luke Dillon 344
10 S19 Brad Keller 338
10 Q77 Jayden Peacock 338
12 V25 Jack Lee 334
13 W97 Mitchell Wormall 328
14 S20 Glen Sutherland 324
15 V42 Jye O’Keeffe 310
16 S10 Steven Caruso 304
17 V88 Dave Murcott 297
18 V37 Grant Anderson 278
19 S13 Brock Hallett 266
20 S15 Aidan Hall 255
21 S78 Keke Falland 251
22 V90 Corey McCullagh 248
23 V98 Peter Doukas 247
24 S72 Chad Ely 236
25 Q23 Lockie McHugh 223
26 S14 Brendan Quinn 218
27 S4 Lisa Walker 217
28 NT9 Danny Porter 208
28 W14 Jason Pryde 208
30 W80 James Inglis 206
31 Q54 Randy Morgan 196
32 S41 Adrian Cottrell 188
33 S3 Ben Morris 179
34 S5 Tregan Gates 176
35 V35 Jamie Veal 168
36 V72 Jacob Smith 158
37 V92 Matthew Reed 150
38 V17 Dennis Jones 142
39 V60 Jordyn Charge 118
40 S57 Rory Button 116
41 T22 Jock Goodyer 100
42 S24 Ricky Maiolo 98
43 S54 Nick Rachwal 84
44 V52 Darren Mollenoyux 66
45 T7 Tim Hutchins 47

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]