Lines wins thrilling WSS opener at Murray Bridge

Steven Lines

Steven Lines has snatched victory in Round 1 of the 2018/19 QSS World Series Sprintcars season in a frenetic finish at Murray Bridge.

The win was Lines’ first in three WSS seasons, while long-time A-Main leader Kerry Madsen finished second and Cory Eliason third.

Madsen started the final from pole having clocked the only 10-second lap of the night in the Gold Shootout and saw off an early challenge from fellow front row starter Eliason.

He cleared out when Matt Egel began to pressure Eliason but traffic saw the top four, rounded out by Lines, compress again.

The three following cars kept in touch with Madsen despite a big battle over the minor placings from Laps 5 to 20, with Lines taking up second position from Eliason and Egel.

After something of a lull, the final five laps of the 35-lap A-Main lit up.

Lines relieved Madsen of the lead and Egel rose from fourth to as high as second.

Lines won his second heat despite incurring damage

Madsen, however, took back second position with a lap to go and Eliason reclaimed third position from Egel on the final corner, holding onto the place by just two tenths of a second at the finish line.

“We’re really starting to get a handle on this car now and Dave Sharman and the boys really had it sorted tonight to be right for the second half of the race when it counted, so I can’t thank them and everyone at Horrell Motorsport enough for the opportunity,” said Lines.

Earlier, the Mount Gambier driver had won Heat 5 despite being caught up in someone else’s crash, and earned a second row start for the A-Main.

Reigning World Series Champion James McFadden rounded out the top five in the A-Main having missed the shootout after heat results of third and fifth.

Lines leads the championship as Speedweek resumes tomorrow night at Borderline Speedway in Mount Gambier.

Standings: After Round 1

Pos Num Driver Pts
1 Q83 Steven Lines 292
2 W2 Kerry Madsen 258
3 W26 Cory Eliason 240
4 S97 Matt Egel 228
5 W17 James McFadden 214
6 S27 Daniel Pestka 209
7 S19 Brad Keller 192
8 V40 Rusty Hickman 182
9 S63 Ryan Jones 178
10 S20 Glen Sutherland 174
11 S72 Chad Ely 170
12 S10 Steven Caruso 164
13 S14 Brendan Quinn 152
14 Q77 Jayden Peacock 150
15 V25 Jack Lee 148
16 S13 Brock Hallett 144
17 V42 Jye O’Keeffe 133
18 S78 Keke Falland 131
19 S4 Lisa Walker 130
20 S81 Luke Dillon 122
21 W97 Mitchell Wormall 118
22 Q23 Lockie McHugh 116
23 S5 Tregan Gates 108
23 Q54 Randy Morgan 108
25 W14 Jason Pryde 106
26 NT9 Danny Porter 102
27 S3 Ben Morris 100
28 S24 Ricky Maiolo 98
29 S41 Adrian Cottrell 86
30 S54 Nick Rachwal 84
31 S15 Aidan Hall 81

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]