Supercars confirms 2019 tyre allocation

Supercars has released its tyre allocation for 2019

The tyre allocation for each event of the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship has been confirmed.

Each car will continue to receive a total of 436 slick tyres across the course of the season.

However, as previously reported, the allocation at some individual events has been increased as a result of the reduction in the calendar from 16 events to 15.

According to Supercars’ official website, those events at which entries will be allocation an extra set of tyres, are Winton, Hidden Valley, Queensland Raceway, Tailem Bend, and the Gold Coast.

Compounds and names also remain the same, with the soft tyre to again be rolled out at Adelaide, Phillip Island, The Bend, Pukekohe, and Bathurst, and the super soft for the balance of the season.

That decision comes despite calls during the inaugural Supercars event at The Bend for the super soft compound to be used at the South Australian circuit due to the lack of significant degradation.

The ‘handback’ requirement, which obliged teams to return a set of Dunlop slick tyres after Friday practice at all events except for those of the Pirtek Enduro Cup and Pukekohe, has also been deleted from the Operations Manual.

However, a number of those events will feature knockout qualifying, for which the starting order is determined by results of the preceding practice session anyway.

Tyre banks will remain for 2019 despite a proposal put forward to abolish the system and introduce fresh tyres at each event for all the teams.

It is understood the extra cost to teams in addition to the outlay for new control transaxles put paid to the move to increase the tyre allocation.

Virgin Australia Supercars Championship 2019 tyre allocation

Event Pre-marked Event allocation
Adelaide 12S 28S
Albert Park 12S and/or SS 24SS
Symmons Plains 16S and/or SS 28SS
Phillip Island 16S 28S
Barbagallo 16S and/or SS 28SS
Winton 16S and/or SS 28SS
Hidden Valley 16S and/or SS 28SS
Reid Park 12S and/or SS 28SS
Queensland Raceway 16S and/or SS 28SS
The Bend 16S 28S
Pukekohe N/A 32S
Bathurst 1000 20S 36S
Gold Coast 600 20S and/or SS 32SS
Sandown 500 20S and/or SS 32SS
Newcastle 12S and/or SS 28SS

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]