W Series announces single team to run all cars

A render of the W Series car

W Series organisers have announced that Silverstone-based Formula 3 team Hitech GP will run all 18 cars in the inaugural season.

Hitech this year competed in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship and Formula 3 Asian Championship, and in 2019 will step up to the new FIA Formula 3 Championship.

Alongside that, it will run the entire fleet of W Series cars, “provid(ing) a full race operation package to W Series, including preparation, shipping and all trackside requirements,” according to the announcement from the all-female championship.

The deal extends to provision of race engineers and pit crews for the Tatuus T-318 Formula 3 cars which will race in the series.

There are three Australians on the 55-driver ‘longlist’, namely Chelsea Angelo, Charlotte Poynting, and Caitlin Wood.

A four-day evaluation will be held in Austria on the last weekend of January, with on- and off-track criteria used to select the 18 drivers who will take part in the 2019 season.

Round 1 takes place at Hockenheim in May.

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]