Australian GT inaugurates Tony Quinn Perpetual Trophy

Category manager Ken Collier, former owner Tony Quinn, and current owner Jim Manolios (left to right)

Tony Quinn has become the first recipient of a new trophy named in his honour by organisers of the CAMS Australian GT Championship which he previously owned.

Quinn was named recipient of the Tony Quinn Perpetual Trophy by category manager Ken Collier at the championship’s annual gala dinner in Melbourne last night.

It has been created to recognise those involved in Australian GT who make ‘a significant contribution’ over the preceding year, and Quinn himself will help to select future recipients.

Quinn, who is also a competitor in the championship, took over rights to run Australian GT in 2011 before selling to Jim Manolios’ Trofeo Motorsport midway through this year.

The award is acknowledgement of his role in running the championship during that time.

“I’m enormously humbled to accept the award,” said Quinn.

“When I took it over, I think we had eight cars at Homebush.

“This is recognition not only for me but for everyone who worked hard over the years to really build Australian GT into what it is today.

“I’m tremendously proud of what we’ve achieved over the last few years and look forward to supporting the category in future.”

Manolios paid tribute to his predecessor, stating, “Tony has been such an instrumental figure in getting GT racing in Australia up and going and he really put in when nobody else was interested.

“We needed a way of honouring that, and Ken Collier and I were talking and I thought well why don’t we name a perpetual trophy after him, and he can have some input into who gets it.

“Every sporting category needs some form of recognition for people who are really contributing to the sport and the success of the category, and this is an appropriate award given the significant part Tony has played in Australian GT’s history.”

Winners of the CAMS Australian GT Championship, CAMS Australian Endurance Championship, CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series, and CAMS Australian GT Championship GT4, were also honoured on the night.

The seven-round 2019 season starts at the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix on March 14-17.

Australian GT 2018 award winners

Award Recipient(s)
Australian GT Championship winner Geoff Emery
Australian GT Championship second place Liam Talbot
Australian GT Championship third place Peter Hackett
Australian Endurance Championship winners Max Twigg & Tony D’Alberto
Australian Endurance Championship second place Tony Bates & Daniel Gaunt
Australian Endurance Championship third place Steve Richards & Michael Almond
Australian GT Championship Gold Driver (sprint series winner) Peter Hackett
Australian GT Championship GT4 winner Jeremy Gray
Australian GT Championship GT4 second place David Crampton & Trent Harrison
Australian GT Championship GT4 third place Justin McMillan
Australian GT Trophy Series winner Nick Kelly
Australian GT Trophy Series second place Matthew Stoupas
Australian GT Trophy Series third place Rio Nugara
Tony Quinn Perpetual Trophy Tony Quinn

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]