SVG investigation still in dispute, penalty recommended

The controversial pit stop pic: Fox Sports

Stewards will determine the outcome of Race 30 on Sunday after Triple Eight disputed a penalty recommendation for a breach of rules regarding Shane van Gisbergen’s final pit stop.

The pit stop was reviewed post-race after it appeared Car #97 breached Supercars Rule D25.6.3 which states that the fuel hose must not be attached when the car is lowered to the ground.

Van Gisbergen took out the race win after passing title rival Scott McLaughlin, who was out of fuel on the final lap.

Deputy Race Director Michael Masi found that Triple Eight was guilty of a breach and recommended a penalty. 

It is unclear as to the extent of the severity of the sanction.

Speedcafe.com has been informed that Triple Eight has disagreed with the penalty, which will now see the matter reviewed again.

Stewards are expected to reconvene on Sunday morning when a decision will be made.

Results from Race 30 remain provisional at this stage.

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]