AMRS Wrap: Camilleri wins GT-1 Australia series

Jake Camilleri and Matt Stoupas

GT-1 Australia

Jake Camilleri has won the inaugural GT-1 Australia competition after winning the final race of the year in a MARC Focus at Winton.

Co-driving with John Goodacre, the pair bounced back from engine issues in the opening race to win Race 2, confirming Camilleri as the series winner.

Matt Stoupas won the opening race from Rod Salmon and Xavier West, all driving Audi R8 LMSs.

Stoupas was then second in Race 2 to win the round, with Salmon in third.

West and Nugara made contact, eliminating both from the race in the closing stages.

Aaron Prosser and Ric Shaw

Mazda RX8 Cup

Both Aaron Prosser and Ric Shaw secured wins in the Mazda RX8 Cup, sharing the four races equally between them.

Prosser won the first two from Shaw before the order was reversed in Sunday’s two races.

Ben Silvestro rounded out the podium in Race 1 before Stephen McLaine climbed to third for the balance of the weekend.

Craig McWhite and Chad Cotton

Miniature Racing Cars

The nine-car Miniature Racing Cars field saw Chad Cotton progress from third in the weekend’s opening race to win the next three.

Craig McWhite won Race 1 from Garry Roberts and Cotton before slipping to second in Race 2.

Peter Griffiths was third in the opener, with Brad Lemon improving to a podium spot for Race 3.

His progress in the Aussie Racing Car continued in the final race of the weekend as he claimed second with McWhite third.

Legends Cars

James Burge claimed three of the four Legend Cars races over the weekend with Reagan Angel taking Race 3.

Burge qualified on pole before leading Ben Jagger and Zane Morse to the flag in the opening race.

Brendan Hourigan them climbed to third in Race 2 as Morse retired, with Hourigan and Bryan Neal taking the podium for Race 3.

The final race of the weekend saw Burge win by 2.7s over Jagger and Morse.

2 Litre Sports Sedans / APRA Pulsars

Heading the 2-Litre Sports Sedans class was Craig Lindsell who won two of the weekend’s three races, leaving Brendan Woods to claim the Race 3 by less than a second.

Steven Cannizzo proved the leading Nissan Pulsar runner throughout, taking class hours across all three eight-lap encounters.

IROC / Outlaw V8s / Super Six / Utes

The combined field saw Sven Burchartz take the chequered flag twice in four races aboard his Porsche 911 IROC.

Nick Cresswell won Race 2 and Greg Keene Race 3, with Burchartz bookending the weekend.

Gavin Ross, Glenn Postlethwaite, Brent Edwards, Wayne Williams, David Murphy, and Chris Formosa were all class winners.

Vic TT Extreme/Production/Super

Cory Gillet took a clean sweep in his Nissan Silvia, heading Ashley Maclurkin and John Hickey in Race 1.

Peter Ryder demoted Hickey in Race 2, moving to second in Race 3 at the expense of Maclurking who fell to third.

Vic V8s

A narrow win in Race 1 started Len Cattlin’s weekend off on the right foot, the Mustang driver going on to win all three races.

He edged out Craig Eddy in Race 1 by 0.6s with Victor Argento in third in the eight lap race.

The podium remained unchanged throughout the next two races, Cattlin easing to a 5.4s win in Race 2.

It was a closer run thing in the final race, with just 0.09s between the leading duo.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]