Fenati to return to grand prix motorcycle racing

Daniel Herrero

Saturday 17th November, 2018 - 11:31am


Romano Fenati pic:

The rider suspended after the infamous brake lever incident at Misano has been named on the provisional 2019 Moto3 entry list.

Romano Fenati was banned for two races after reaching over and grabbing Stefano Manzi’s brake lever during the Moto2 race at Misano, in retaliation for an earlier incident between the two.

His licence was subsequently suspended until the end of the year by the FIM, while Fenati announced his retirement from racing before edging back from that decision.

The infamous Misano incident pic:

He will return to the paddock next year with the Marinelli Snipers team (Team O in the table below), which he was riding for this year in Moto2, and which had terminated his contract before it was to run out at the end of 2018.

Ironically, Fenati had originally signed a contract to ride for MV Augusta in Moto2 in 2019, the team which will be run by the Forward Racing outfit that Manzi was riding for.

Marinelli Snipers’ technical boss Mirko Cecchini is convinced that the fiery Italian deserves a new start.

“It’s like, he would like to start from zero,” said Cecchini.

“This is a new life for him, and okay, he did a mistake, a big mistake, but I think that the media have made bigger than what he was deserving.

“So, we push together, to begin a new life, together, so this is a good point for us, because we have next year a young (rider) that is growing up in Toni (Arbolino, team-mate) and an experienced rider, we can have both for the top.”

As previously reported, Australian Moto2 rider Remy Gardner moves from Tech3 to SAG Racing Team.

The release of the three entry lists also shows that Yamaha Factory Racing’s Maverick Viñales will change from #25 to #12 next year.

Viñales hopes that the change coincides with him shaking off a shocking 2018 season during which he has only won once, at Phillip Island, two races ago.

“When I was a kid I always used 12, or 100 in motocross, but for many years I wanted to change to 12 but I never felt the way to do it. But now I felt that I needed to do something different,” said the Spaniard.

“Next year there’s going to be a new engine, new crew chief, everything new. So, it was the time to change. New Maverick.

“The 25 was because I liked a motocross rider. I went to a category where 12 was already taken, so I went with 25. If 12 wasn’t taken, I would have gone with 12.

“I felt this was the moment to change. These have been the worst two years in the World Championship, so I want to change everything.”

The MotoGP entry list also places the last piece of the puzzle in the 2019 field, namely that Tito Rabat will continue with Avintia Ducati.

MotoGP 2019 provisional entry list

Num Rider Nat Team Bike
04 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team Ducati
5 Johann Zarco FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
9 Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati Team Ducati
12 Maverick Viñales ESP Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha
17 Karel Abraham CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati
20 Fabio Quartararo FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha
21 Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha
29 Andrea Iannone ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
30 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda Idemitsu Honda
35 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda Castrol Honda
36 Joan Mir ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
41 Aleix Espargaro ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia
42 Alex Rins ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki
43 Jack Miller AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati
44 Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
46 Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha
53 Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati
55 Hafizh Syahrin MAS Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM
63 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati
88 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM
93 Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda
99 Jorge Lorenzo ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda

Moto2 2019 provisional entry list

Num Rider Nat Team Bike
3 Lukas Tulovic GER Kiefer Racing KTM
4 Steven Odendaal RSA NTS RW Racing GP NTS
5 Andrea Locatelli ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex
7 Lorenzo Baldassari ITA Pons Hp40 Kalex
9 Jorge Navarro ESP Speed Up Racing Speed Up
10 Luca Marini ITA Sky Racing Team VR46 Kalex
11 Nicolo Bulega ITA Sky Racing Team VR46 Kalex
12 Tom Luthi SUI Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex
16 Joe Roberts USA American Team KTM
18 Xavier Cardelus AND Angel Nieto Team KTM
20 Dimas Ekky Pratama IDN Idemitsu Honda Team Asia Honda
21 Fabio Di Giannantonio ITA Speed Up Racing Speed Up
22 Sam Lowes GBR Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Kalex
23 Marcel Schrotter GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex
24 Simone Corsi ITA Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 Kalex
27 Iker Lecuona ESP American Team KTM
33 Enea Bastianini ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex
35 Somkiat Chantra THA Idemitsu Honda Team Asia Kalex
40 Augusto Fernandez ESP Pons Hp40 Kalex
41 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
45 Tetsuta Nagashima JPN Sag Team Kalex
62 Stefano Manzi ITA Forward Racing Team MV
64 Bo Bendsneyder NED NTS RW Racing GP NTS
65 Philipp Oettl GER Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM
72 Marco Bezzecchi ITA Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM
73 Alex Marquez ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex
77 Dominique Aegerter SUI Forward Racing Team MV
87 Remy Gardner AUS Sag Team Kalex
88 Jorge Martin ESP Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
89 Khairul Idham Pawi MAS Petronas Sprinta Racing Kalex
96 Jake Dixon GBR Angel Nieto Team KTM
97 Xavi Vierge ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex

Moto3 2019 provisional entry list

Num Rider Nat Team Bike
5 Jaume Masia ESP Bester Capital Dubai KTM
10 Dennis Foggia ITA Sky Racing Team VR46 KTM
11 Sergio Garcia ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda
12 Filip Salac CZE Redox PruestelGP KTM
13 Celestino Vietti ITA Sky Racing Team VR46 KTM
14 Tony Arbolino ITA Team O Honda
16 Andrea Migno ITA Bester Capital Dubai KTM
17 John McPhee GBR Petronas Sprinta Racing Honda
19 Gabriel Rodrigo ARG Kommerling Gresini Moto3 Honda
22 Kazuki Masaki JPN BOE Skull Rider KTM
23 Niccolo Antonelli ITA SIC58 Squadra Corse Honda
24 Tatsuki Suzuki JPN SIC58 Squadra Corse Honda
25 Raul Fernandez ESP Angel Nieto Team KTM
27 Kaito Toba JPN Honda Team Asia Honda
40 Darryn Binder RSA CIP Green Power KTM
42 Marcos Ramirez ESP Leopard Racing Honda
44 Aron Canet ESP Max Racing Team KTM
48 Lorenzo Dalla Porta ITA Leopard Racing Honda
54 Riccardo Rossi ITA Kommerling Gresini Moto3 Honda
55 Romano Fenati ITA Team O Honda
61 Can Oncu TUR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM
69 Tom Booth-Amos GBR CIP Green Power KTM
71 Ayumu Sasaki JPN Petronas Sprinta Racing Honda
72 Alonso Lopez ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda
75 Albert Arenas ESP Angel Nieto Team KTM
76 Makar Yurchenko KAZ BOE Skull Rider KTM
77 Vicente Perez ESP Reale Avintia Academy KTM
79 Ai Ogura JPN Honda Team Asia Honda
84 Jakub Kornfeil CZE Redox PruestelGP KTM comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!