Ingall joins Sydney Stadium Trucks field

Russell Ingall

Russell Ingall will make his debut in the Boost Mobile Stadium Super Trucks series this weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Ingall will be part of a nine-truck field at the Australian Motor Racing Series meeting at the invitation of Paul Morris in what will be his first racing since last year’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.

He has also behind the wheel of Shane van Gisbergen’s Triple Eight Supercar during a practice session at Queensland Raceway earlier this year in the absence of the Kiwi’s Pirtek Enduro Cup co-driver, Earl Bamber.

“It has been a bit unexpected, the break I’ve had from the last time I’ve raced a car,” Ingall told

“It was good to have a run in van Gisbergen’s car earlier this year.

“I wasn’t expecting to be this long out of the saddle. This was totally unexpected and this just came out after a post on social media about how the trucks were missed at the GC600.

“I think they are a good spectacle and have always enjoyed them and it was shame they were not there. I put a post out and it just went off its head and Paul Morris spotted it and rang me and he asked me if I was interested in running one.

“That is how it all came about.

“Tomorrow morning will be my first time in a truck so I’m in the deep end but I think that is a good thing about it.”

The field which also features Morris, whose Supercars team Ingall drove for from 2008 to 2011, as well as series leader Matt Brabham and occasional SST racer Matt Nolan.

As always, the overseas contingent is headlined by series founder Robby Gordon.

After testing tomorrow, the Stadium Super Trucks will tackle qualifying and the first of three races on Saturday.

The final round of the inaugural AMRS season also features Australian Formula Ford, Performax TA2 Muscle Car Series, GT-1 Australia, Legend Cars, Group 4/Super Sixes/Outlaw V8s, Mazda RX8 Cup, and IROC Challenge.

Entry list: Sydney Motorsport Park

Num Team/Sponsor Driver
1 Supercheap Auto/UFD Paul Morris
7 SPEED Energy/Toyo Tires Robby Gordon
9 TBA Russell Ingall
21 TBA Matt Nolan
47 UFD/LIVE Jeff Hoffman
55 UFD/LIVE Gavin Harlien
60 Cole Potts
68 Empire Destructive/MPI Blade Hildebrand
83 Devilbiss/Headstrong Matt Brabham

Schedule (Local time/AEDT)

Time Session
Friday October 26
1135 Test and tune
Saturday October 27
1020 Qualifying
1505 Race 1
Sunday October 27
1000 Race 2
1345 Race 3

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]