Grid set for Formula Ford decider at SMP

Formula Ford races at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend

A 22-car Australian Formula Ford field will take to Sydney Motorsport Park for its final round of 2018, this weekend.

The title will be decided amongst Sonic Motor Racing team-mates Hunter McElrea and Hamish Ribarits, the former of whom holds an 11-point edge at the top of the standings.

Aside from bragging rights, the series winner also earns a berth in the 2018 Mazda Road To Indy Shootout at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park in December.

McElrea also has the opportunity to beat Chaz Mostert’s record of 14 race wins in a single national Formula Ford season, if he can sweep the weekend.

On that weekend, however, Ribarits narrowed his deficit to McElrea as the New Zealander failed to finish Race 2 due to early contact.

The FF1600 class, which contributes seven of the 22-car field, is a similarly close-run thing with Dylan Fahey leading Tim Hamilton by four points.

Robert Rowe is also in the hunt at eight points further back and has home track advantage over the Queenslanders.

A total of 61 points (including a bonus for pole) are on offer in each class.

There will be three practice sessions this Friday, qualifying and Race 1 on Saturday, and the final two races of the season on Sunday.

Formula Ford will take place on the Australian Motor Racing Series program, which includes the Stadium Super Trucks.

Entry list: Sydney Motorsport Park

Num Driver Team/Sponsor
Formula Ford (Duratec)
2 Hunter McElrea Sonic Motor Racing Services
3 Courtney Prince Sonic Motor Racing Services
4 Angelo Mouzouris Sonic Motor Racing Services
5 Hamish Ribarits Sonic Motor Racing Services
6 Paul Zsidy Borland Racing Developments
10 Zac Soutar
12 Bart Horsten Fastlane Racing
14 Lachlan Mineeff CHE Racing Team
29 Nathan Herne BF Racing
36 Cody Burcher Borland Racing Developments
40 Dan Holihan Traxstar Anglo Motorsport
47 Thomas Sargent CHE Racing Team
66 Benjamin D’Alia Borland Racing Developments
88 Harrison Goodman BF Racing
98 Conor Nicholson
Formula Ford 1600 Class
8 Dylan Fahey
9 Dave Wood
13 Josh Buchan Listec Race Cars
41 Robert Rowe
80 Jason Liddell
87 Tim Hamilton
94 Joshua Glinn


Pos Driver Pts
Formula Ford (Duratec, Top 10)
1 Hunter McElrea 278
2 Hamish Ribarits 267
3 Zac Soutar 209
4 Nathan Herne 186
5 Liam McLellan 158
6 Lachlan Mineeff 142
7 Angelo Mouzouris 127
8 Cody Donald 116
9 Cameron Shields 108
10 Bart Horsten 101
Formula Ford 1600 Class
1 Dylan Fahey 92
2 Tim Hamilton 88
3 Robert Rowe 80
4 Jason Liddell 70
5 Jimmy Bailey 30

Schedule (Local time/AEDT)

Time Session
Friday October 26
0905 FP1
1255 FP2
1525 FP3
Saturday October 27
0950 Qualifying
1435 Race 1
Sunday October 27
1130 Race 2
1515 Race 3

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]