Ocon and Magnussen excluded from USGP

Esteban Ocon and Kevin Magnussen have been disqualified from the USGP

Esteban Ocon and Kevin Magnussen have been disqualified from the United States Grand Prix for breaches of the sport’s fuel regulations.

Ocon was disqualified after it was discovered his car burned more fuel than the maximum flow rate permitted under the regulations during the opening lap.

Meanwhile Magnussen was pinged for consuming more than the allowed 105kg of fuel during the 56 lap event.

Teams are only allowed a maximum fuel flow rate of 100kg/hr, which Ocon’s car briefly exceeded on the opening lap of the race at the Circuit of the Americas.

All cars are fitted with an FIA-supplied fuel flow sensor, which relays information back to the governing body.

The Frenchman was immediately placed under investigation at the finish of the race as stewards looked into the breach.

“What happened was that there was a spike of flow and then a trough, so if you look at it over a lap it was neutral,” explained Force India team boss Otmar Szafnauer.

“If you look at it over the lap there is no infringement, but it depends how you chop up the lap. This is the first time it has happened.”

Disqualification for Ocon saw him lose eighth place, a position Magnussen would have slotted into had he not also been excluded.

In Magnussen’s case it was a simple case of the car used too much fuel during the course of the race, capping off a dismal weekend for the team that saw Romain Grosjean retire after he was involved in a first lap scuffle.

The Frenchman tangled with Charles Leclerc for which he was subsequently penalised three grid spots for next weekend’s Mexican Grand Prix.

Grosjean also moves onto 10 penalty points on his Superlicense, just two away from a one-race ban.

Magnussen’s exclusion is Haas’ second of the season, following Grosjean’s disqualification from the Italian Grand Prix for an infringement on the floor of the car, which the team is currently appealing.

With Ocon and Magnussen excluded in Austin, Sergio Perez is promoted to eighth and Brendon Hartley ninth as the New Zealander scores just his third points of the season and best result in F1 to date.

Marcus Ericsson slots into 10th to pick up the final championship point for Sauber in a race that officially had just 14 finishers.

Updated Results: Formula 1 United States Grand Prix

Pos Driver Car Laps Time/Diff
1 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 56 1:34:18.643
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull Renault 56 +1.281s
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 56 +2.342s
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 56 +18.222s
5 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 56 +24.744s
6 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 56 +87.210s
7 Carlos Sainz Renault 56 +94.994s
8 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 56 +101.080s
9 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso Honda 55 +1 lap
10 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 55 +1 lap
11 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Renault 55 +1 lap
12 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso Honda 55 +1 lap
13 Sergey Sirotkin Williams Mercedes 55 +1 lap
14 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 54 +2 laps
DNF Charles Leclerc Sauber Ferrari 31
DNF Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Renault 8
DNF Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 2
DNF Fernando Alonso McLaren Renault 1
EXC Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes
EXC Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari

Drivers’ Championship

Pos Driver Points
1  Lewis Hamilton 346
2  Sebastian Vettel 276
3  Kimi Räikkönen 221
4  Valtteri Bottas 217
5  Max Verstappen 191
6  Daniel Ricciardo 146
7  Nico Hülkenberg 61
8  Sergio Pérez 57
9  Kevin Magnussen 53
10  Fernando Alonso 50
11  Esteban Ocon 49
12  Carlos Sainz Jr. 45
13  Romain Grosjean 31
14  Pierre Gasly 28
15  Charles Leclerc 21
16  Stoffel Vandoorne 8
17  Marcus Ericsson 7
18  Lance Stroll 6
19  Brendon Hartley 4
20  Sergey Sirotkin 1

Constructors’ Championship

Pos Team Points
1 Mercedes 563
2 Ferrari 497
3 Red Bull Renault 337
4 Renault 106
5 Haas Ferrari 84
6 McLaren Renault 58
7 Force India Mercedes 47
8 Toro Rosso Honda 32
9 Sauber Ferrari 28
10 Williams Mercedes 7

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]